Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > San Francisco 49ers > 1997 Game Results & Schedule

1997 San Francisco 49ers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

13-3-0, Finished 1st in NFC West Division  · 1997 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 5.1, Offense: 2.4, Defense: 2.7, SoS: -1.8, avg is 0.0.

Scored 375 points (23.4/g), 5th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 265 points (16.6/g), 3rd.
 Differential of 110 points (6.9/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 11.1-4.9.

Coach: Steve Mariucci (13-3-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Marty Mornhinweg
 Defensive Coordinator: John Marshall
 Other Notable Asst.: Greg Knapp (Offensive Quality Control) and Jim Mora (Secondary)

Stadium: 3Com Park
 Training Camp: Sierra College (Rocklin, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun August 31 boxscore L 0-1 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 6 13 12 191 91 100 1 15 271 156 115 2
2 Sun September 7 boxscore W 1-1 @ St. Louis Rams 15 12 12 228 93 135 4 11 203 104 99 4
3 Sun September 14 boxscore W 2-1 New Orleans Saints 33 7 17 304 213 91 1 12 260 176 84 8
4 Sun September 21 boxscore W 3-1 Atlanta Falcons 34 7 18 424 353 71 15 211 154 57 1
5 Mon September 29 boxscore W 4-1 @ Carolina Panthers 34 21 27 368 149 219 1 16 254 210 44 4
6 Bye Week
7 Sun October 12 boxscore W 5-1 St. Louis Rams 30 10 21 345 189 156 1 7 113 83 30 3
8 Sun October 19 boxscore W 6-1 @ Atlanta Falcons 35 28 24 438 241 197 1 19 292 253 39
9 Sun October 26 boxscore W 7-1 @ New Orleans Saints 23 0 21 347 210 137 6 142 87 55 2
10 Sun November 2 boxscore W 8-1 Dallas Cowboys 17 10 18 301 173 128 2 16 271 184 87 2
11 Mon November 10 boxscore W 9-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 24 12 13 213 96 117 1 18 257 188 69 3
12 Sun November 16 boxscore W 10-1 Carolina Panthers 27 19 20 320 221 99 18 254 169 85 3
13 Sun November 23 boxscore W 11-1 San Diego Chargers 17 10 19 339 228 111 2 8 203 111 92 3
14 Sun November 30 boxscore L 11-2 @ Kansas City Chiefs 9 44 13 279 152 127 3 22 340 187 153 1
15 Sun December 7 boxscore W 12-2 Minnesota Vikings 28 17 24 368 270 98 20 298 161 137 2
16 Mon December 15 boxscore W 13-2 Denver Broncos 34 17 18 323 265 58 1 15 237 141 96 3
17 Sun December 21 boxscore L 13-3 @ Seattle Seahawks 9 38 17 324 199 125 2 24 407 283 124
Playoffs
Division Sat January 3 boxscore W 14-3 Minnesota Vikings 38 22 31 394 219 175 16 378 321 57 1
ConfChamp Sun January 11 boxscore L 14-4 Green Bay Packers 10 23 15 257 224 33 2 19 325 219 106