Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1998 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:2014 NFL Update

1998 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 3rd in NFC Central Division  · 1998 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 1.3, Offense: -2.3, Defense: 3.5, SoS: 0.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 314 points (19.6/g), 18th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 295 points (18.4/g), 5th.
 Differential of 19 points (1.2/g), 12th.  Expected W-L: 8.6-7.4.

Coach: Tony Dungy (8-8-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Mike Shula
 Defensive Coordinator: Monte Kiffin
 Other Notable Asst.: Rod Marinelli (Defensive Line) and Lovie Smith (Linebackers)

Stadium: Raymond James Stadium
 Training Camp: University of Tampa (Tampa, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 6 boxscore L 0-1 @ Minnesota Vikings 7 31 17 319 251 68 2 19 298 181 117 1
2 Sun September 13 boxscore L 0-2 @ Green Bay Packers 15 23 17 211 161 50 4 15 260 223 37 2
3 Sun September 20 boxscore W 1-2 Chicago Bears 27 15 20 364 144 220 2 13 254 169 85 2
4 Mon September 28 boxscore L 1-3 @ Detroit Lions 6 27 6 133 78 55 2 17 280 124 156 1
5 Sun October 4 boxscore W 2-3 New York Giants 20 3 16 234 60 174 2 8 135 71 64 3
6 Bye Week
7 Sun October 18 boxscore W 3-3 Carolina Panthers 16 13 21 349 213 136 2 17 290 223 67
8 Sun October 25 boxscore L 3-4 @ New Orleans Saints 3 9 11 238 180 58 3 12 266 210 56 1
9 Sun November 1 boxscore W 4-4 Minnesota Vikings 27 24 22 378 132 246 18 340 270 70 1
10 Sun November 8 boxscore L 4-5 Tennessee Oilers 22 31 19 397 294 103 1 20 353 117 236 1
11 Sun November 15 boxscore L 4-6 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 24 29 13 343 186 157 3 18 374 230 144
12 Sun November 22 boxscore L 4-7 Detroit Lions 25 28 22 428 283 145 2 19 300 188 112
13 Sun November 29 boxscore W 5-7 @ Chicago Bears 31 17 13 267 153 114 2 13 224 155 69 2
14 Mon December 7 boxscore W 6-7 Green Bay Packers 24 22 12 283 178 105 1 23 333 228 105 2
15 Sun December 13 boxscore W 7-7 Pittsburgh Steelers 16 3 14 253 109 144 1 10 166 78 88 5
16 Sat December 19 boxscore L 7-8 @ Washington Redskins 16 20 17 237 87 150 3 11 226 136 90 2
17 Sun December 27 boxscore W 8-8 @ Cincinnati Bengals 35 0 22 320 97 223 1 11 246 159 87 3