Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Washington Redskins > 1956 Game Results & Schedule

1956 Washington Redskins

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

6-6-0, Finished 3rd in NFL East Division  · 1956 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -3.7, Offense: -3.7, Defense: -0.1, SoS: -0.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 183 points (15.2/g), 10th of 12 in the NFL. Allowed 225 points (18.8/g), 6th.
 Differential of -42 points (-3.5/g), 8th.  Expected W-L: 4.6-7.4.

Coach: Joe Kuharich (6-6-0)

 Training Camp: Occidental College (Los Angeles, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 30 boxscore L 0-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 13 30 10 192 117 75 4 17 225 83 142 1
2 Sat October 6 boxscore L 0-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 9 13 13 194 48 146 3 13 207 99 108 2
3 Sun October 14 boxscore L 0-3 Chicago Cardinals 3 31 15 236 100 136 3 13 280 55 225 2
4 Sun October 21 boxscore W 1-3 Cleveland Browns 20 9 18 235 35 200 3 13 216 105 111 4
5 Sun October 28 boxscore W 2-3 @ Chicago Cardinals 17 14 17 334 141 193 2 19 299 161 138 5
6 Sun November 11 boxscore W 3-3 Detroit Lions 18 17 15 286 83 203 2 16 312 260 52 4
7 Sun November 18 boxscore W 4-3 New York Giants 33 7 23 391 160 231 1 15 249 175 74 5
9 Sun November 25 boxscore W 5-3 @ Cleveland Browns 20 17 14 237 140 97 2 13 184 48 136 2
10 Sun December 2 boxscore L 5-4 @ New York Giants 14 28 13 219 75 144 7 22 367 174 193 4
10 Sun December 9 boxscore W 6-4 Philadelphia Eagles 19 17 21 332 196 136 12 239 109 130
11 Sun December 16 boxscore L 6-5 Pittsburgh Steelers 0 23 5 85 15 70 6 11 253 177 76 1
12 Sun December 23 boxscore L 6-6 @ Baltimore Colts 17 19 12 220 108 112 2 24 368 183 185 4