Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971 Game Results & Schedule

1971 Washington Redskins

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-4-1, Finished 2nd in NFC East Division  · 1971 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 5.1, Offense: -0.6, Defense: 5.8, SoS: -1.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 276 points (19.7/g), 12th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 190 points (13.6/g), 4th.
 Differential of 86 points (6.1/g), 6th.  Expected W-L: 9.9-4.1.

Coach: George Allen (9-4-1)
 Defensive Coordinator: LaVern Torgeson

Stadium: Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium
 Training Camp: Dickinson College (Carlisle, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 19 boxscore W 1-0 @ St. Louis Cardinals 24 17 10 213 65 148 1 13 255 138 117 7
2 Sun September 26 boxscore W 2-0 @ New York Giants 30 3 19 427 301 126 13 156 88 68 2
3 Sun October 3 boxscore W 3-0 @ Dallas Cowboys 20 16 14 285 85 200 3 20 267 185 82 1
4 Sun October 10 boxscore W 4-0 Houston Oilers 22 13 11 251 136 115 2 13 192 146 46 5
5 Sun October 17 boxscore W 5-0 St. Louis Cardinals 20 0 21 349 120 229 2 11 205 180 25 7
6 Sun October 24 boxscore L 5-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 20 27 16 304 205 99 2 20 325 163 162 2
7 Sun October 31 boxscore W 6-1 New Orleans Saints 24 14 21 377 204 173 6 16 212 106 106 1
8 Sun November 7 boxscore T 6-1-1 Philadelphia Eagles 7 7 14 197 136 61 7 10 172 95 77 1
9 Sun November 14 boxscore L 6-2-1 @ Chicago Bears 15 16 15 283 195 88 20 385 180 205 1
10 Sun November 21 boxscore L 6-3-1 Dallas Cowboys 0 13 15 232 167 65 2 16 279 133 146 1
11 Sun November 28 boxscore W 7-3-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 20 13 10 257 155 102 2 16 280 180 100 2
12 Sun December 5 boxscore W 8-3-1 New York Giants 23 7 9 190 35 155 1 15 254 165 89 5
13 Mon December 13 boxscore W 9-3-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 38 24 15 319 240 79 3 17 318 214 104 4
14 Sun December 19 boxscore L 9-4-1 Cleveland Browns 13 20 22 346 229 117 4 13 223 154 69 2
Playoffs
Division Sun December 26 boxscore L 9-5-1 @ San Francisco 49ers 20 24 13 192 93 99 3 11 285 173 112