Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1940 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1940 Brooklyn Dodgers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-3-0, NFL East Division  · 1940 NFL Season Summary

Scored 186 points (16.9/g), 4th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 120 points (10.9/g), 1st.
 Differential of 66 points (6.0/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 8.1-2.9.

Coach: Jock Sutherland (8-3-0)

Stadium: Ebbets Field
 Training Camp: Hun Junior School (Princeton, New Jersey)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 15 boxscore L 0-1 @ Washington Redskins 17 24 10 276 156 120 3 15 369 174 195 2
4 Sun September 29 boxscore W 1-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 10 3 14 315 56 259 2 7 188 111 77 3
3 Fri October 4 boxscore W 2-1 Philadelphia Eagles 30 17 14 249 71 178 1 9 152 100 52 3
4 Sun October 13 boxscore W 3-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 21 0 8 240 121 119 2 12 213 76 137 3
5 Sun October 20 boxscore L 3-2 @ Chicago Bears 7 16 9 261 187 74 1 18 417 117 300 2
7 Sat October 26 boxscore W 4-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 21 7 7 221 22 199 1 13 257 228 29 2
7 Sun November 3 boxscore L 4-3 New York Giants 7 10 13 263 190 73 3 11 174 37 137 2
8 Sun November 10 boxscore W 5-3 Washington Redskins 16 14 7 167 94 73 1 20 331 312 19 3
9 Sun November 17 boxscore W 6-3 Cleveland Rams 29 14 9 240 114 126 3 15 285 145 140 5
10 Sun November 24 boxscore W 7-3 Chicago Cardinals 14 9 9 222 106 116 5 15 287 88 199 4
11 Sun December 1 boxscore W 8-3 @ New York Giants 14 6 15 340 130 210 3 8 163 57 106 2