Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1972 Buffalo Bills

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-9-1, AFC East Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -7.2, Offense: -1.6, Defense: -5.6, SoS: 1.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 257 points (18.4/g), 19th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 377 points (26.9/g), 24th.
 Differential of -120 points (-8.6/g), 22nd.  Expected W-L: 4.0-10.0.

Coach: Lou Saban (4-9-1)

Stadium: War Memorial Stadium
 Training Camp: Niagara University (Niagara Falls, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-1 New York Jets 24 41 16 287 207 80 4 19 293 102 191 1
2 Sun September 24 boxscore W 1-1 San Francisco 49ers 27 20 17 233 56 177 1 10 202 169 33 4
3 Sun October 1 boxscore L 1-2 Baltimore Colts 0 17 11 229 111 118 5 17 339 180 159 4
4 Sun October 8 boxscore W 2-2 New England Patriots 38 14 19 305 160 145 2 23 354 244 110 4
5 Sun October 15 boxscore L 2-3 @ Oakland Raiders 16 28 16 295 114 181 1 22 396 181 215 2
6 Sun October 22 boxscore L 2-4 @ Miami Dolphins 23 24 11 188 24 164 1 20 310 80 230 4
7 Sun October 29 boxscore L 2-5 Pittsburgh Steelers 21 38 24 418 164 254 4 18 309 93 216 1
8 Sun November 5 boxscore L 2-6 Miami Dolphins 16 30 12 172 99 73 2 21 327 73 254 1
9 Sun November 12 boxscore L 2-7 @ New York Jets 3 41 11 210 67 143 4 17 289 141 148 1
10 Sun November 19 boxscore W 3-7 @ New England Patriots 27 24 19 295 116 179 4 15 298 183 115 4
11 Sun November 26 boxscore L 3-8 @ Cleveland Browns 10 27 12 175 28 147 2 16 253 121 132 2
12 Sun December 3 boxscore L 3-9 @ Baltimore Colts 7 35 13 244 144 100 4 22 391 202 189
13 Sun December 10 boxscore T 3-9-1 Detroit Lions 21 21 23 418 231 187 3 14 260 144 116
14 Sun December 17 boxscore W 4-9-1 @ Washington Redskins 24 17 17 264 80 184 2 15 171 38 133 3