Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1956 Game Results & Schedule

1956 Chicago Cardinals

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-5-0, Finished 2nd in NFL East Division  · 1956 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 3.4, Offense: -0.1, Defense: 3.5, SoS: -1.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 240 points (20.0/g), 7th of 12 in the NFL. Allowed 182 points (15.2/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 58 points (4.8/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 7.9-4.1.

Coach: Ray Richards (7-5-0)

Stadium: Comiskey Park
 Training Camp: Lake Forest College (Lake Forest, Illinois)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 30 boxscore W 1-0 Cleveland Browns 9 7 20 344 68 276 3 8 214 106 108 2
2 Sun October 7 boxscore W 2-0 New York Giants 35 27 18 359 136 223 5 17 333 176 157 3
3 Sun October 14 boxscore W 3-0 @ Washington Redskins 31 3 13 280 55 225 2 15 236 100 136 3
4 Sun October 21 boxscore W 4-0 @ Philadelphia Eagles 20 6 14 244 119 125 1 20 349 120 229 8
5 Sun October 28 boxscore L 4-1 Washington Redskins 14 17 19 299 161 138 5 17 334 141 193 2
6 Sun November 4 boxscore W 5-1 Philadelphia Eagles 28 17 17 262 108 154 1 18 235 109 126 2
7 Sun November 11 boxscore L 5-2 @ New York Giants 10 23 15 284 157 127 22 362 175 187 2
8 Sun November 18 boxscore L 5-3 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 14 15 254 103 151 6 15 280 39 241 4
9 Sun November 25 boxscore W 6-3 Pittsburgh Steelers 38 27 19 370 128 242 4 25 352 206 146 6
10 Sun December 2 boxscore L 6-4 Green Bay Packers 21 24 14 209 129 80 2 25 351 157 194 4
11 Sun December 9 boxscore L 6-5 @ Chicago Bears 3 10 11 265 174 91 4 16 302 44 258 5
12 Sun December 16 boxscore W 7-5 @ Cleveland Browns 24 7 16 252 31 221 2 13 251 151 100 4