Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971 Game Results & Schedule

1971 St. Louis Cardinals

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-9-1, Finished 4th in NFC East Division  · 1971 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -4.2, Offense: -4.0, Defense: -0.2, SoS: -0.8, avg is 0.0.

Scored 231 points (16.5/g), 20th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 279 points (19.9/g), 15th.
 Differential of -48 points (-3.4/g), 17th.  Expected W-L: 5.5-8.5.

Coach: Bob Hollway (4-9-1)
 Offensive Coordinator: Lew Carpenter
 Defensive Coordinator: Dick Voris

Stadium: Civic Center Busch Memorial Stadium
 Training Camp: Lake Forest College (Lake Forest, Illinois)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 19 boxscore L 0-1 Washington Redskins 17 24 13 255 138 117 7 10 213 65 148 1
2 Mon September 27 boxscore W 1-1 New York Jets 17 10 15 340 222 118 1 18 239 121 118
3 Sun October 3 boxscore L 1-2 New York Giants 20 21 14 305 176 129 4 16 301 220 81 2
4 Sun October 10 boxscore W 2-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 26 9 16 263 112 151 15 213 119 94 6
5 Sun October 17 boxscore L 2-3 @ Washington Redskins 0 20 11 205 180 25 7 21 349 120 229 2
6 Sun October 24 boxscore L 2-4 San Francisco 49ers 14 26 15 284 176 108 3 16 366 226 140
7 Sun October 31 boxscore W 3-4 @ Buffalo Bills 28 23 24 305 163 142 19 309 247 62 3
8 Sun November 7 boxscore L 3-5 Dallas Cowboys 13 16 11 228 192 36 1 20 372 199 173
9 Mon November 15 boxscore L 3-6 @ San Diego Chargers 17 20 21 346 214 132 3 21 389 249 140 3
10 Sun November 21 boxscore L 3-7 Philadelphia Eagles 20 37 15 333 248 85 8 17 267 134 133 2
11 Sun November 28 boxscore W 4-7 @ New York Giants 24 7 21 344 137 207 3 15 285 211 74 6
12 Sun December 5 boxscore T 4-7-1 Green Bay Packers 16 16 12 305 225 80 1 19 357 146 211 3
13 Sun December 12 boxscore L 4-8-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 7 19 10 273 161 112 5 19 382 205 177 1
14 Sat December 18 boxscore L 4-9-1 @ Dallas Cowboys 12 31 14 215 127 88 3 18 323 118 205 4