Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1980 Game Results & Schedule

1980 Dallas Cowboys

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-4-0, Finished 1st in NFC East Division  · 1980 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 8.0, Offense: 7.8, Defense: 0.1, SoS: -1.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 454 points (28.4/g), 1st of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 311 points (19.4/g), 13th.
 Differential of 143 points (8.9/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 11.4-4.6.

Coach: Tom Landry (12-4-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Dan Reeves
 Defensive Coordinator: Ernie Stautner

Stadium: Texas Stadium
 Training Camp: California Lutheran College (Thousand Oaks, California)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 8 boxscore W 1-0 @ Washington Redskins 17 3 18 284 107 177 2 14 239 181 58 1
2 Sun September 14 boxscore L 1-1 @ Denver Broncos 20 41 20 386 276 110 3 19 343 190 153
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W 2-1 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 28 17 26 390 244 146 1 22 442 238 204 2
4 Sun September 28 boxscore W 3-1 @ Green Bay Packers 28 7 24 394 200 194 1 17 264 132 132 1
5 Sun October 5 boxscore W 4-1 New York Giants 24 3 20 335 250 85 2 14 292 155 137 4
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 5-1 San Francisco 49ers 59 14 28 460 226 234 14 225 147 78 10
7 Sun October 19 boxscore L 5-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 10 17 19 249 203 46 5 15 248 180 68 4
8 Sun October 26 boxscore W 6-2 San Diego Chargers 42 31 29 425 227 198 2 21 449 352 97 7
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 7-2 @ St. Louis Cardinals 27 24 16 310 252 58 2 18 360 217 143 2
10 Sun November 9 boxscore L 7-3 @ New York Giants 35 38 21 394 155 239 5 26 462 345 117 2
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 8-3 St. Louis Cardinals 31 21 26 460 276 184 2 16 329 188 141 1
12 Sun November 23 boxscore W 9-3 Washington Redskins 14 10 12 199 84 115 6 14 222 38 184 2
13 Thu November 27 boxscore W 10-3 Seattle Seahawks 51 7 24 325 125 200 2 18 232 84 148 7
14 Sun December 7 boxscore W 11-3 @ Oakland Raiders 19 13 17 260 132 128 1 16 248 165 83 4
15 Mon December 15 boxscore L 11-4 @ Los Angeles Rams 14 38 13 271 175 96 3 21 517 275 242
16 Sun December 21 boxscore W 12-4 Philadelphia Eagles 35 27 24 340 172 168 2 21 407 323 84
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 28 boxscore W 13-4 Los Angeles Rams 34 13 29 528 190 338 3 15 260 168 92 3
Division Sun January 4 boxscore W 14-4 @ Atlanta Falcons 30 27 22 422 310 112 2 18 371 285 86 2
ConfChamp Sun January 11 boxscore L 14-5 @ Philadelphia Eagles 7 20 11 206 116 90 4 19 340 77 263 2