Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Game Results & Schedule

1981 Dallas Cowboys

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-4-0, Finished 1st in NFC East Division  · 1981 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.1, Offense: 2.9, Defense: 3.2, SoS: 0.5, avg is 0.0.

Scored 367 points (22.9/g), 6th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 277 points (17.3/g), 7th.
 Differential of 90 points (5.6/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 10.6-5.4.

Coach: Tom Landry (12-4-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Ernie Stautner

Stadium: Texas Stadium
 Training Camp: California Lutheran College (Thousand Oaks, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 6 boxscore W 1-0 @ Washington Redskins 26 10 20 346 140 206 1 20 324 280 44 6
2 Sun September 13 boxscore W 2-0 St. Louis Cardinals 30 17 24 391 210 181 2 18 404 262 142 2
3 Mon September 21 boxscore W 3-0 @ New England Patriots 35 21 22 455 218 237 1 16 333 225 108 7
4 Sun September 27 boxscore W 4-0 New York Giants 18 10 16 317 193 124 16 343 258 85 3
5 Sun October 4 boxscore L 4-1 @ St. Louis Cardinals 17 20 17 306 166 140 2 18 299 184 115 3
6 Sun October 11 boxscore L 4-2 @ San Francisco 49ers 14 45 10 192 109 83 4 23 440 290 150 1
7 Sun October 18 boxscore W 5-2 Los Angeles Rams 29 17 24 496 275 221 3 22 374 203 171 3
8 Sun October 25 boxscore W 6-2 Miami Dolphins 28 27 23 466 327 139 2 25 529 381 148 5
9 Sun November 1 boxscore W 7-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 17 14 19 317 176 141 3 17 291 197 94 1
10 Mon November 9 boxscore W 8-2 Buffalo Bills 27 14 21 398 202 196 3 18 365 310 55 5
11 Sun November 15 boxscore L 8-3 @ Detroit Lions 24 27 19 323 225 98 2 23 429 231 198 3
12 Sun November 22 boxscore W 9-3 Washington Redskins 24 10 27 470 212 258 2 17 256 131 125 1
13 Thu November 26 boxscore W 10-3 Chicago Bears 10 9 11 273 178 95 3 15 272 43 229 3
14 Sun December 6 boxscore W 11-3 @ Baltimore Colts 37 13 29 464 110 354 2 9 238 82 156 3
15 Sun December 13 boxscore W 12-3 Philadelphia Eagles 21 10 23 412 264 148 2 14 225 135 90 5
16 Sat December 19 boxscore L OT 12-4 @ New York Giants 10 13 16 254 164 90 3 15 297 158 139 2
Playoffs
Division Sat January 2 boxscore W 13-4 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 38 0 26 345 133 212 12 222 148 74 4
ConfChamp Sun January 10 boxscore L 13-5 @ San Francisco 49ers 27 28 16 250 135 115 3 26 393 266 127 6