Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1949 Game Results & Schedule

1949 Detroit Lions

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-8-0, Finished 4th in NFL West Division  · 1949 NFL Season Summary

Scored 237 points (19.8/g), 7th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 259 points (21.6/g), 5th.
 Differential of -22 points (-1.8/g), 7th.  Expected W-L: 5.4-6.6.

Coach: Bo McMillin (4-8-0)

Stadium: Briggs Stadium
 Training Camp: Eastern Michigan University (Ypsilanti, Michigan)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Fri September 23 boxscore L 0-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 24 27 18 298 233 65 3 20 331 163 168 3
2 Mon October 3 boxscore L 0-2 Philadelphia Eagles 14 22 13 135 33 102 3 25 327 91 236 4
3 Sat October 8 boxscore L 0-3 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 14 17 262 210 52 3 18 272 66 206 4
4 Sun October 16 boxscore L 0-4 Los Angeles Rams 10 21 17 294 180 114 5 15 294 208 86 5
5 Sun October 23 boxscore W 1-4 @ Chicago Cardinals 24 7 16 336 210 126 5 10 276 117 159 8
6 Sun October 30 boxscore L 1-5 @ Green Bay Packers 14 16 23 412 197 215 2 16 312 61 251 2
7 Sun November 6 boxscore L 1-6 Chicago Cardinals 19 42 20 361 172 189 5 16 317 162 155 4
8 Sun November 13 boxscore L 1-7 @ Chicago Bears 24 27 15 307 243 64 6 24 429 216 213 8
9 Sun November 20 boxscore W 2-7 @ New York Giants 45 21 22 402 261 141 6 11 239 194 45 6
10 Thu November 24 boxscore L 2-8 Chicago Bears 7 28 9 110 70 40 5 18 346 202 144 2
11 Sun December 4 boxscore W 3-8 New York Bulldogs 28 27 17 326 145 181 2 20 278 223 55 2
12 Sun December 11 boxscore W 4-8 Green Bay Packers 21 7 19 393 301 92 4 11 189 80 109 1