Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 Kansas City Chiefs

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-12-0, Finished 5th in AFC West Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -4.4, Offense: -3.0, Defense: -1.4, SoS: 0.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 243 points (15.2/g), 24th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 327 points (20.4/g), 22nd.
 Differential of -84 points (-5.2/g), 26th.  Expected W-L: 5.3-10.7.

Coach: Marv Levy (4-12-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Rod Rust

Stadium: Arrowhead Stadium
 Training Camp: William Jewell College (Liberty, Missouri)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 3 boxscore W 1-0 @ Cincinnati Bengals 24 23 26 388 121 267 2 12 205 128 77 3
2 Sun September 10 boxscore L 1-1 Houston Oilers 17 20 19 295 34 261 2 15 226 47 179 1
3 Sun September 17 boxscore L 1-2 @ New York Giants 10 26 19 365 150 215 2 16 339 167 172
4 Sun September 24 boxscore L OT 1-3 Denver Broncos 17 23 13 244 89 155 2 25 357 129 228 1
5 Sun October 1 boxscore L 1-4 @ Buffalo Bills 13 28 15 308 70 238 2 17 293 176 117 3
6 Sun October 8 boxscore L 1-5 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 13 30 15 256 136 120 2 21 347 226 121 1
7 Sun October 15 boxscore L 1-6 @ Oakland Raiders 6 28 14 255 163 92 1 20 354 218 136
8 Sun October 22 boxscore W 2-6 Cleveland Browns 17 3 17 238 48 190 11 162 51 111 3
9 Sun October 29 boxscore L 2-7 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 24 27 20 322 141 181 3 17 215 80 135 3
10 Sun November 5 boxscore L 2-8 Oakland Raiders 10 20 12 202 95 107 3 20 329 153 176 3
11 Sun November 12 boxscore L OT 2-9 @ San Diego Chargers 23 29 26 403 198 205 1 24 385 188 197 2
12 Sun November 19 boxscore L 2-10 Seattle Seahawks 10 13 20 355 231 124 4 13 257 125 132
13 Sun November 26 boxscore W 3-10 San Diego Chargers 23 0 19 353 115 238 3 11 239 164 75 6
14 Sun December 3 boxscore W 4-10 Buffalo Bills 14 10 21 340 99 241 1 16 343 207 136 5
15 Sun December 10 boxscore L 4-11 @ Denver Broncos 3 24 13 199 100 99 3 20 461 271 190 2
16 Sun December 17 boxscore L 4-12 @ Seattle Seahawks 19 23 18 297 44 253 3 26 456 252 204 2