Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 Kansas City Chiefs

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-9-0, Finished 5th in AFC West Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 1.4, Offense: -4.0, Defense: 5.4, SoS: 2.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 238 points (14.9/g), 26th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 262 points (16.4/g), 5th.
 Differential of -24 points (-1.5/g), 18th.  Expected W-L: 7.1-8.9.

Coach: Marv Levy (7-9-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Rod Rust

Stadium: Arrowhead Stadium
 Training Camp: William Jewell College (Liberty, Missouri)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 2 boxscore W 1-0 Baltimore Colts 14 0 12 211 45 166 1 15 308 225 83 2
2 Sun September 9 boxscore L 1-1 Cleveland Browns 24 27 19 248 147 101 1 23 402 238 164 2
3 Sun September 16 boxscore L 1-2 @ Houston Oilers 6 20 16 280 97 183 5 16 345 173 172 1
4 Sun September 23 boxscore W 2-2 Oakland Raiders 35 7 22 292 70 222 2 10 121 90 31 4
5 Sun September 30 boxscore W 3-2 @ Seattle Seahawks 24 6 11 230 15 215 1 18 312 178 134 2
6 Sun October 7 boxscore W 4-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 10 7 11 200 101 99 2 14 221 66 155 2
7 Sun October 14 boxscore L 4-3 Denver Broncos 10 24 16 166 68 98 2 21 344 207 137 1
8 Sun October 21 boxscore L 4-4 New York Giants 17 21 28 463 294 169 4 13 226 126 100 1
9 Sun October 28 boxscore L 4-5 @ Denver Broncos 3 20 12 210 108 102 3 20 381 269 112 2
10 Sun November 4 boxscore L 4-6 San Diego Chargers 14 20 17 283 164 119 4 23 315 229 86 2
11 Sun November 11 boxscore L 4-7 Pittsburgh Steelers 3 30 8 127 62 65 3 20 355 228 127 2
12 Sun November 18 boxscore W 5-7 @ Oakland Raiders 24 21 20 363 122 241 1 21 339 271 68 3
13 Sun November 25 boxscore L 5-8 @ San Diego Chargers 7 28 9 190 125 65 1 30 460 325 135 1
14 Sun December 2 boxscore W 6-8 Seattle Seahawks 37 21 20 331 137 194 2 21 275 231 44 5
15 Sun December 9 boxscore W 7-8 @ Baltimore Colts 10 7 16 302 83 219 2 16 298 223 75 4
16 Sun December 16 boxscore L 7-9 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 0 3 4 80 22 58 2 16 269 45 224 3