Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1986 Game Results & Schedule

1986 Miami Dolphins

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 3rd in AFC East Division  · 1986 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 0.5, Offense: 6.2, Defense: -5.7, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 430 points (26.9/g), 1st of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 405 points (25.3/g), 26th.
 Differential of 25 points (1.6/g), 12th.  Expected W-L: 8.6-7.4.

Coach: Don Shula (8-8-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Chuck Studley

Stadium: Orange Bowl
 Training Camp: St. Thomas University (Miami Gardens, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore L 0-1 @ San Diego Chargers 28 50 20 339 294 45 4 31 500 276 224
2 Sun September 14 boxscore W 1-1 Indianapolis Colts 30 10 21 388 254 134 1 15 253 178 75 2
3 Sun September 21 boxscore L OT 1-2 @ New York Jets 45 51 27 485 435 50 3 32 581 449 132 4
4 Sun September 28 boxscore L 1-3 San Francisco 49ers 16 31 24 437 365 72 4 16 314 168 146 1
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 1-4 @ New England Patriots 7 34 13 251 152 99 3 25 429 262 167
6 Sun October 12 boxscore W 2-4 Buffalo Bills 27 14 27 447 328 119 3 18 305 197 108 4
7 Sun October 19 boxscore L 2-5 Los Angeles Raiders 28 30 17 330 273 57 4 19 315 101 214
8 Sun October 26 boxscore W 3-5 @ Indianapolis Colts 17 13 21 340 243 97 17 303 121 182 1
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 4-5 Houston Oilers 28 7 17 345 217 128 3 18 301 137 164 2
10 Mon November 10 boxscore L 4-6 @ Cleveland Browns 16 26 20 353 295 58 2 29 558 390 168 2
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 5-6 @ Buffalo Bills 34 24 29 474 389 85 14 261 181 80 1
12 Mon November 24 boxscore W 6-6 New York Jets 45 3 31 514 325 189 17 280 191 89 4
13 Sun November 30 boxscore L 6-7 Atlanta Falcons 14 20 16 375 303 72 4 13 362 143 219 1
14 Sun December 7 boxscore W 7-7 @ New Orleans Saints 31 27 25 352 241 111 26 526 269 257 2
15 Sun December 14 boxscore W OT 8-7 @ Los Angeles Rams 37 31 23 506 399 107 2 25 372 230 142 1
16 Mon December 22 boxscore L 8-8 New England Patriots 27 34 20 388 266 122 4 22 390 264 126 2