Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-7-0, Finished 3rd in NFC Central Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.1, Offense: 2.6, Defense: 3.4, SoS: 2.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 301 points (21.5/g), 12th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 252 points (18.0/g), 11th.
 Differential of 49 points (3.5/g), 10th.  Expected W-L: 8.5-5.5.

Coach: Bud Grant (7-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Burns

Stadium: Metropolitan Stadium
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 18 boxscore L 0-1 Washington Redskins 21 24 26 382 200 182 2 11 203 57 146 1
2 Sun September 24 boxscore W 1-1 @ Detroit Lions 34 10 13 286 156 130 16 213 124 89 5
3 Sun October 1 boxscore L 1-2 Miami Dolphins 14 16 12 240 109 131 4 14 254 134 120 2
4 Sun October 8 boxscore L 1-3 St. Louis Cardinals 17 19 21 292 113 179 2 12 262 153 109
5 Sun October 15 boxscore W 2-3 @ Denver Broncos 23 20 21 305 177 128 1 15 336 175 161 2
6 Mon October 23 boxscore L 2-4 @ Chicago Bears 10 13 12 282 231 51 4 17 241 46 195 4
7 Sun October 29 boxscore W 3-4 @ Green Bay Packers 27 13 15 344 192 152 3 12 232 130 102 4
8 Sun November 5 boxscore W 4-4 New Orleans Saints 37 6 23 381 233 148 1 16 270 147 123 4
9 Sun November 12 boxscore W 5-4 Detroit Lions 16 14 17 298 121 177 3 9 228 126 102 1
10 Sun November 19 boxscore W 6-4 @ Los Angeles Rams 45 41 14 375 319 56 25 426 235 191 2
11 Sun November 26 boxscore L 6-5 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 10 23 16 320 225 95 3 12 292 86 206 3
12 Sun December 3 boxscore W 7-5 Chicago Bears 23 10 19 341 261 80 3 5 91 1 90 3
13 Sun December 10 boxscore L 7-6 Green Bay Packers 7 23 9 144 90 54 4 18 270 56 214 2
14 Sat December 16 boxscore L 7-7 @ San Francisco 49ers 17 20 17 273 96 177 2 18 383 229 154 7