Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-7-1, Finished 1st in NFC Central Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -0.2, Offense: 1.0, Defense: -1.1, SoS: 0.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 294 points (18.4/g), 12th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 306 points (19.1/g), 20th.
 Differential of -12 points (-0.8/g), 13th.  Expected W-L: 7.6-8.4.

Coach: Bud Grant (8-7-1)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Burns
 Defensive Coordinator: Bob Hollway

Stadium: Metropolitan Stadium
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 3 boxscore L 0-1 @ New Orleans Saints 24 31 28 424 269 155 6 19 321 183 138 1
2 Mon September 11 boxscore W OT 1-1 Denver Broncos 12 9 13 206 105 101 3 18 231 129 102 6
3 Sun September 17 boxscore L 1-2 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 10 16 15 219 146 73 5 10 155 63 92 1
4 Mon September 25 boxscore W 2-2 @ Chicago Bears 24 20 17 295 142 153 2 23 278 188 90 3
5 Sun October 1 boxscore W 3-2 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 24 7 19 319 208 111 1 18 370 283 87 3
6 Sun October 8 boxscore L 3-3 @ Seattle Seahawks 28 29 28 391 274 117 1 23 432 248 184 2
7 Sun October 15 boxscore L 3-4 Los Angeles Rams 17 34 13 167 125 42 2 23 326 146 180 3
8 Sun October 22 boxscore W 4-4 Green Bay Packers 21 7 22 294 234 60 1 14 247 118 129 2
9 Thu October 26 boxscore W 5-4 @ Dallas Cowboys 21 10 21 281 137 144 13 239 147 92 4
10 Sun November 5 boxscore W 6-4 Detroit Lions 17 7 22 312 188 124 5 11 175 105 70 3
11 Sun November 12 boxscore W 7-4 Chicago Bears 17 14 18 313 223 90 3 15 233 47 186 4
12 Sun November 19 boxscore L 7-5 San Diego Chargers 7 13 17 272 209 63 4 19 287 163 124 3
13 Sun November 26 boxscore T OT 7-5-1 @ Green Bay Packers 10 10 15 293 182 111 5 16 318 164 154 3
14 Sun December 3 boxscore W 8-5-1 Philadelphia Eagles 28 27 23 369 289 80 3 18 376 213 163 1
15 Sat December 9 boxscore L 8-6-1 @ Detroit Lions 14 45 16 235 213 22 3 22 507 350 157 2
16 Sun December 17 boxscore L 8-7-1 @ Oakland Raiders 20 27 21 389 299 90 7 16 311 143 168 2
Playoffs
Division Sun December 31 boxscore L 8-8-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 10 34 12 244 208 36 2 25 409 209 200 1