Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Minnesota Vikings > 1983 Game Results & Schedule

1983 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 4th in NFC Central Division  · 1983 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -3.1, Offense: -2.9, Defense: -0.1, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 316 points (19.8/g), 18th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 348 points (21.8/g), 17th.
 Differential of -32 points (-2.0/g), 20th.  Expected W-L: 7.1-8.9.

Coach: Bud Grant (8-8-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Burns
 Defensive Coordinator: Bob Hollway

Stadium: Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore W 1-0 @ Cleveland Browns 27 21 24 387 198 189 2 17 302 186 116 4
2 Thu September 8 boxscore L 1-1 San Francisco 49ers 17 48 23 340 272 68 6 21 413 216 197 1
3 Sun September 18 boxscore W OT 2-1 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 19 16 18 354 264 90 20 306 192 114 2
4 Sun September 25 boxscore W 3-1 Detroit Lions 20 17 14 181 141 40 2 24 371 217 154 6
5 Sun October 2 boxscore L 3-2 Dallas Cowboys 24 37 14 316 272 44 3 28 400 200 200 3
6 Sun October 9 boxscore W 4-2 @ Chicago Bears 23 14 15 368 177 191 1 23 425 186 239 5
7 Sun October 16 boxscore W 5-2 Houston Oilers 34 14 17 329 209 120 1 17 308 163 145 7
8 Sun October 23 boxscore W OT 6-2 @ Green Bay Packers 20 17 24 410 199 211 27 414 327 87 4
9 Sun October 30 boxscore L 6-3 @ St. Louis Cardinals 31 41 23 348 289 59 3 24 420 238 182 2
10 Sun November 6 boxscore L 6-4 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 12 17 18 247 179 68 1 11 275 67 208 2
11 Sun November 13 boxscore L 6-5 Green Bay Packers 21 29 23 419 261 158 3 20 343 180 163 1
12 Sun November 20 boxscore W 7-5 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 17 14 20 338 188 150 2 14 236 128 108 1
13 Sun November 27 boxscore L 7-6 @ New Orleans Saints 16 17 17 245 124 121 1 18 324 171 153 5
14 Mon December 5 boxscore L 7-7 @ Detroit Lions 2 13 19 224 130 94 2 14 268 101 167 2
15 Sun December 11 boxscore L 7-8 Chicago Bears 13 19 18 255 206 49 2 16 303 93 210
16 Sat December 17 boxscore W 8-8 Cincinnati Bengals 20 14 16 258 102 156 3 24 379 238 141 3