Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Minnesota Vikings > 1988 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:2014 NFL Update

1988 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

11-5-0, NFC Central Division  · 1988 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 10.9, Offense: 6.5, Defense: 4.3, SoS: 0.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 406 points (25.4/g), 4th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 233 points (14.6/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 173 points (10.8/g), 1st.  Expected W-L: 12.6-3.4.

Coach: Jerry Burns (11-5-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Bob Schnelker
 Defensive Coordinator: Floyd Peters
 Other Notable Asst.: Pete Carroll (Defensive Backs)

Stadium: Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 4 boxscore L 0-1 @ Buffalo Bills 10 13 21 300 170 130 2 18 310 196 114 1
2 Sun September 11 boxscore W 1-1 New England Patriots 36 6 24 415 265 150 2 12 214 111 103 5
3 Sun September 18 boxscore W 2-1 @ Chicago Bears 31 7 20 376 249 127 1 14 235 165 70 5
4 Sun September 25 boxscore W 3-1 Philadelphia Eagles 23 21 21 392 287 105 3 12 205 135 70 2
5 Sun October 2 boxscore L 3-2 @ Miami Dolphins 7 24 17 353 295 58 4 20 342 264 78 3
6 Sun October 9 boxscore W 4-2 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 14 13 15 276 207 69 2 18 331 154 177 3
7 Sun October 16 boxscore L 4-3 Green Bay Packers 14 34 20 324 257 67 5 22 355 230 125 2
8 Sun October 23 boxscore W 5-3 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 49 20 25 433 305 128 1 18 243 215 28 7
9 Sun October 30 boxscore L 5-4 @ San Francisco 49ers 21 24 15 321 229 92 3 16 339 209 130 2
10 Sun November 6 boxscore W 6-4 Detroit Lions 44 17 33 553 355 198 1 8 89 21 68 2
11 Sun November 13 boxscore W 7-4 @ Dallas Cowboys 43 3 18 325 222 103 1 12 159 49 110 7
12 Sun November 20 boxscore W 8-4 Indianapolis Colts 12 3 13 275 192 83 17 213 110 103 2
13 Thu November 24 boxscore W 9-4 @ Detroit Lions 23 0 24 353 172 181 3 60 42 18 2
14 Sun December 4 boxscore W 10-4 New Orleans Saints 45 3 20 426 217 209 1 13 233 107 126 3
15 Sun December 11 boxscore L 10-5 @ Green Bay Packers 6 18 15 255 211 44 2 19 298 201 97 4
16 Mon December 19 boxscore W 11-5 Chicago Bears 28 27 17 218 156 62 2 21 465 280 185 3
Playoffs
WildCard Mon December 26 boxscore W 12-5 Los Angeles Rams 28 17 11 310 207 103 19 342 235 107 3
Division Sun January 1 boxscore L 12-6 @ San Francisco 49ers 9 34 20 262 208 54 3 20 372 171 201 2