Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996 Game Results & Schedule

1996 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 2nd in NFC Central Division  · 1996 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -0.1, Offense: -0.9, Defense: 0.7, SoS: 0.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 298 points (18.6/g), 23rd of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 315 points (19.7/g), 15th.
 Differential of -17 points (-1.1/g), 17th.  Expected W-L: 7.5-8.5.

Coach: Dennis Green (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Brian Billick
 Defensive Coordinator: Foge Fazio
 Other Notable Asst.: Mike Tice (Tight Ends)

Stadium: Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 1 boxscore W 1-0 Detroit Lions 17 13 16 311 183 128 27 435 244 191 5
2 Sun September 8 boxscore W 2-0 @ Atlanta Falcons 23 17 18 365 266 99 2 21 324 245 79 2
3 Sun September 15 boxscore W 3-0 @ Chicago Bears 20 14 21 377 239 138 1 17 299 191 108 3
4 Sun September 22 boxscore W 4-0 Green Bay Packers 30 21 18 351 263 88 4 8 217 157 60 4
5 Sun September 29 boxscore L 4-1 @ New York Giants 10 15 10 228 140 88 2 21 291 146 145
6 Sun October 6 boxscore W 5-1 Carolina Panthers 14 12 16 293 192 101 2 15 256 155 101 6
7 Sun October 13 boxscore L 5-2 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 13 24 17 394 255 139 3 20 284 208 76
8 Bye Week
9 Mon October 28 boxscore L 5-3 Chicago Bears 13 15 16 279 268 11 2 18 276 180 96 2
10 Sun November 3 boxscore L 5-4 Kansas City Chiefs 6 21 13 258 210 48 2 23 359 157 202 1
11 Sun November 10 boxscore L 5-5 @ Seattle Seahawks 23 42 16 315 300 15 4 26 452 253 199 1
12 Sun November 17 boxscore W OT 6-5 @ Oakland Raiders 16 13 20 445 263 182 2 13 237 112 125 1
13 Sun November 24 boxscore L 6-6 Denver Broncos 17 21 20 296 246 50 2 22 388 309 79 3
14 Sun December 1 boxscore W 7-6 Arizona Cardinals 41 17 29 412 263 149 18 280 245 35 3
15 Sun December 8 boxscore W 8-6 @ Detroit Lions 24 22 21 289 173 116 23 380 235 145
16 Sun December 15 boxscore W 9-6 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 21 10 21 339 194 145 4 8 169 77 92 2
17 Sun December 22 boxscore L 9-7 @ Green Bay Packers 10 38 12 252 203 49 2 29 440 207 233 2
Playoffs
WildCard Sat December 28 boxscore L 9-8 @ Dallas Cowboys 15 40 12 268 205 63 6 27 438 183 255 2