Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 New Orleans Saints

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-9-0, Finished 3rd in NFC West Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.7, Offense: -0.5, Defense: -1.2, SoS: -0.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 281 points (17.6/g), 16th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 298 points (18.6/g), 16th.
 Differential of -17 points (-1.1/g), 16th.  Expected W-L: 7.4-8.6.

Coach: Dick Nolan (7-9-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Paul Wiggin

Stadium: Louisiana Superdome
 Training Camp: Dodgertown (Vero Beach, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 3 boxscore W 1-0 Minnesota Vikings 31 24 19 321 183 138 1 28 424 269 155 6
2 Sun September 10 boxscore L 1-1 @ Green Bay Packers 17 28 25 395 295 100 1 20 376 156 220 2
3 Sun September 17 boxscore L 1-2 Philadelphia Eagles 17 24 14 308 220 88 4 22 373 166 207 3
4 Sun September 24 boxscore W 2-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 20 18 12 254 180 74 2 14 283 117 166 1
5 Sun October 1 boxscore L 2-3 Los Angeles Rams 20 26 19 315 172 143 1 15 281 157 124 1
6 Sun October 8 boxscore L 2-4 Cleveland Browns 16 24 21 298 231 67 2 20 271 92 179 3
7 Sun October 15 boxscore W 3-4 @ San Francisco 49ers 14 7 12 206 31 175 12 175 101 74 6
8 Sun October 22 boxscore W 4-4 @ Los Angeles Rams 10 3 12 118 78 40 1 20 342 184 158 6
9 Sun October 29 boxscore W 5-4 New York Giants 28 17 22 300 139 161 1 17 333 129 204 3
10 Sun November 5 boxscore L 5-5 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 14 20 23 421 340 81 2 20 345 200 145 2
11 Sun November 12 boxscore L 5-6 Atlanta Falcons 17 20 22 347 181 166 2 16 284 210 74 1
12 Sun November 19 boxscore L 5-7 @ Dallas Cowboys 7 27 15 277 215 62 4 17 304 106 198
13 Sun November 26 boxscore L 5-8 @ Atlanta Falcons 17 20 13 335 205 130 2 25 385 255 130 4
14 Sun December 3 boxscore W 6-8 San Francisco 49ers 24 13 24 383 190 193 4 14 287 128 159 3
15 Sun December 10 boxscore L 6-9 Houston Oilers 12 17 18 297 241 56 1 16 244 119 125
16 Sun December 17 boxscore W 7-9 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17 10 24 421 250 171 3 10 177 75 102