Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1961 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1961 Boston Patriots

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-4-1, AFL East Division  · 1961 AFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.2, Offense: 4.8, Defense: 1.4, SoS: -0.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 413 points (29.5/g), 2nd of 8 in the AFL. Allowed 313 points (22.4/g), 3rd.
 Differential of 100 points (7.1/g), 3rd.  Expected W-L: 9.2-4.8.

Coach: Lou Saban (2-3-0) and Mike Holovak (7-1-1)

Stadium: Nickerson Field
 Training Camp: University of Massachusetts (Amherst, Massachusetts)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sat September 9 boxscore L 0-1 New York Titans 20 21 14 217 86 131 2 15 276 183 93 3
2 Sat September 16 boxscore W 1-1 Denver Broncos 45 17 19 392 346 46 1 10 270 201 69 4
3 Sat September 23 boxscore W 2-1 @ Buffalo Bills 23 21 15 329 163 166 2 14 175 112 63 2
4 Sun October 1 boxscore L 2-2 @ New York Titans 30 37 11 239 159 80 2 26 353 196 157 3
5 Sat October 7 boxscore L 2-3 San Diego Chargers 27 38 17 253 148 105 3 19 399 315 84 3
6 Fri October 13 boxscore T 2-3-1 Houston Oilers 31 31 20 383 254 129 2 25 540 448 92 2
7 Sun October 22 boxscore W 3-3-1 Buffalo Bills 52 21 18 437 202 235 2 23 275 224 51 5
7 Sun October 29 boxscore W 4-3-1 @ Dallas Texans 18 17 17 312 168 144 2 16 236 169 67 1
9 Fri November 3 boxscore W 5-3-1 Dallas Texans 28 21 19 229 145 84 2 17 364 300 64 3
9 Sun November 12 boxscore L 5-4-1 @ Houston Oilers 15 27 16 252 208 44 3 19 346 177 169 2
11 Fri November 17 boxscore W 6-4-1 Oakland Raiders 20 17 14 225 131 94 2 15 203 164 39 2
13 Sun December 3 boxscore W 7-4-1 @ Denver Broncos 28 24 11 244 173 71 2 19 281 217 64 4
13 Sat December 9 boxscore W 8-4-1 @ Oakland Raiders 35 21 29 407 200 207 2 14 213 186 27 2
14 Sun December 17 boxscore W 9-4-1 @ San Diego Chargers 41 0 18 295 156 139 3 11 192 190 2 6