Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1997 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1997 New England Patriots

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-6-0, AFC East Division  · 1997 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 5.3, Offense: 2.3, Defense: 3.0, SoS: 0.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 369 points (23.1/g), 8th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 289 points (18.1/g), 8th.
 Differential of 80 points (5.0/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 10.3-5.7.

Coach: Pete Carroll (10-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Larry Kennan
 Defensive Coordinator: Steve Sidwell
 Other Notable Asst.: Jeff Davidson (Tight Ends)

Stadium: Foxboro Stadium
 Training Camp: Bryant College (Smithfield, Rhode Island)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun August 31 boxscore W 1-0 San Diego Chargers 41 7 22 424 340 84 14 227 142 85 3
2 Sun September 7 boxscore W 2-0 @ Indianapolis Colts 31 6 15 382 260 122 19 255 214 41 1
3 Sun September 14 boxscore W OT 3-0 New York Jets 27 24 23 375 162 213 3 22 355 225 130 3
4 Sun September 21 boxscore W 4-0 Chicago Bears 31 3 23 402 315 87 3 9 199 120 79 3
5 Bye Week
6 Mon October 6 boxscore L 4-1 @ Denver Broncos 13 34 13 262 211 51 2 25 380 188 192 2
7 Sun October 12 boxscore W 5-1 Buffalo Bills 33 6 19 310 171 139 1 13 242 148 94 4
8 Sun October 19 boxscore L 5-2 @ New York Jets 19 24 19 372 267 105 1 22 330 254 76
9 Mon October 27 boxscore L 5-3 Green Bay Packers 10 28 18 324 255 69 4 27 371 227 144 1
10 Sun November 2 boxscore L 5-4 @ Minnesota Vikings 18 23 21 410 293 117 1 18 288 222 66
11 Sun November 9 boxscore W 6-4 @ Buffalo Bills 31 10 11 267 164 103 14 241 119 122 4
12 Sun November 16 boxscore L 6-5 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 7 27 10 168 93 75 3 21 348 202 146 2
13 Sun November 23 boxscore W 7-5 Miami Dolphins 27 24 15 318 234 84 33 406 370 36 3
14 Sun November 30 boxscore W 8-5 Indianapolis Colts 20 17 17 258 187 71 23 403 285 118 1
15 Sun December 7 boxscore W 9-5 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 26 20 16 282 227 55 23 341 234 107 2
16 Sat December 13 boxscore L OT 9-6 Pittsburgh Steelers 21 24 15 253 211 42 2 22 404 266 138 2
17 Mon December 22 boxscore W 10-6 @ Miami Dolphins 14 12 10 207 160 47 2 17 295 253 42 1
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 28 boxscore W 11-6 Miami Dolphins 17 3 15 228 120 108 10 162 120 42 3
Division Sat January 3 boxscore L 11-7 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 6 7 15 280 244 36 4 16 279 134 145 1