Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1948 Game Results & Schedule

1948 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-8-0, Finished 3rd in NFL East Division  · 1948 NFL Season Summary

Scored 297 points (24.8/g), 5th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 388 points (32.3/g), 9th.
 Differential of -91 points (-7.6/g), 7th.  Expected W-L: 4.2-7.8.

Coach: Steve Owen (4-8-0)

Stadium: Polo Grounds
 Training Camp: UW Superior (Superior, Wisconsin)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
2 Thu September 23 boxscore W 1-0 @ Boston Yanks 27 7 13 299 211 88 3 10 228 137 91 7
2 Sun October 3 boxscore L 1-1 @ Washington Redskins 10 41 4 102 92 10 6 24 495 336 159 3
3 Sun October 10 boxscore L 1-2 @ Philadelphia Eagles 0 45 6 125 64 61 5 19 366 168 198 2
4 Sun October 17 boxscore L 1-3 Chicago Cardinals 35 63 26 392 247 145 2 23 579 280 299 1
5 Sun October 24 boxscore W 2-3 Pittsburgh Steelers 34 27 13 336 192 144 1 14 287 204 83 5
6 Sun October 31 boxscore L 2-4 @ Chicago Bears 14 35 14 204 137 67 4 22 461 169 292 7
7 Sun November 7 boxscore L 2-5 Philadelphia Eagles 14 35 19 376 261 115 2 21 458 189 269 4
8 Sun November 14 boxscore L 2-6 Los Angeles Rams 37 52 14 233 141 92 4 25 390 167 223 5
10 Sun November 21 boxscore W 3-6 @ Green Bay Packers 49 3 28 443 334 109 2 11 232 139 93 8
10 Sun November 28 boxscore W 4-6 Boston Yanks 28 14 21 403 237 166 2 11 157 98 59 5
11 Sun December 5 boxscore L 4-7 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 28 38 31 463 363 100 3 23 431 165 266
12 Sun December 12 boxscore L 4-8 Washington Redskins 21 28 23 347 225 122 2 24 490 354 136 3