Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1989 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:2014 NFL Update

1989 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-4-0, Finished 1st in NFC East Division  · 1989 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.4, Offense: 1.9, Defense: 4.6, SoS: 0.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 348 points (21.8/g), 12th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 252 points (15.8/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 96 points (6.0/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 10.9-5.1.

Coach: Bill Parcells (12-4-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Ron Erhardt
 Defensive Coordinator: Bill Belichick
 Other Notable Asst.: Tom Coughlin (Wide Receivers), Romeo Crennel (Special Teams) and Al Groh (Linebackers)

Stadium: Giants Stadium
 Training Camp: Fairleigh Dickinson University (Madison, New Jersey)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 11 boxscore W 1-0 @ Washington Redskins 27 24 19 390 231 159 3 19 457 345 112 3
2 Sun September 17 boxscore W 2-0 Detroit Lions 24 14 21 345 216 129 1 19 410 315 95 5
3 Sun September 24 boxscore W 3-0 Phoenix Cardinals 35 7 16 366 204 162 1 16 248 183 65 6
4 Sun October 1 boxscore W 4-0 @ Dallas Cowboys 30 13 20 342 205 137 5 12 288 201 87 2
5 Sun October 8 boxscore L 4-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 19 21 20 323 239 84 1 18 243 85 158
6 Sun October 15 boxscore W 5-1 Washington Redskins 20 17 19 306 173 133 1 18 316 194 122 2
7 Sun October 22 boxscore W 6-1 @ San Diego Chargers 20 13 24 327 218 109 2 9 179 128 51 1
8 Mon October 30 boxscore W 7-1 Minnesota Vikings 24 14 13 174 55 119 20 250 140 110 4
9 Sun November 5 boxscore W 8-1 @ Phoenix Cardinals 20 13 22 384 174 210 2 14 186 111 75 1
10 Sun November 12 boxscore L 8-2 @ Los Angeles Rams 10 31 13 207 201 6 2 28 445 295 150 2
11 Sun November 19 boxscore W 9-2 Seattle Seahawks 15 3 21 349 187 162 1 12 195 132 63 2
12 Mon November 27 boxscore L 9-3 @ San Francisco 49ers 24 34 23 342 290 52 5 24 381 285 96 3
13 Sun December 3 boxscore L 9-4 Philadelphia Eagles 17 24 17 294 236 58 5 13 279 130 149 2
14 Sun December 10 boxscore W 10-4 @ Denver Broncos 14 7 16 261 148 113 18 367 284 83
15 Sat December 16 boxscore W 11-4 Dallas Cowboys 15 0 14 273 133 140 7 108 67 41 1
16 Sun December 24 boxscore W 12-4 Los Angeles Raiders 34 17 20 280 164 116 1 19 312 230 82 3
Playoffs
Division Sun January 7 boxscore L OT 12-5 Los Angeles Rams 13 19 20 344 173 171 1 26 448 302 146 2