Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > New York Giants > 2001 Game Results & Schedule

2001 New York Giants

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

7-9-0, Finished 3rd in NFC East Division  · 2001 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.8, Offense: -1.8, Defense: 0.0, SoS: -0.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 294 points (18.4/g), 21st of 31 in the NFL. Allowed 321 points (20.1/g), 16th.
 Differential of -27 points (-1.7/g), 18th.  Expected W-L: 7.2-8.8.

Coach: Jim Fassel (7-9-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Sean Payton
 Defensive Coordinator: John Fox
 Other Notable Asst.: Eric Studesville (Running Backs)

Stadium: The Meadowlands
 Training Camp: SUNY Albany (Albany, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense Expected Points
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO Offense Defense Sp. Tms
1 Mon September 10 boxscore L 0-1 @ Denver Broncos 20 31 17 308 245 63 25 473 330 143 7.52 -15.65 -5.33
2 Sun September 23 boxscore W 1-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 13 3 20 299 201 98 3 11 266 178 88 1 0.63 10.92 3.79
3 Sun September 30 boxscore W 2-1 New Orleans Saints 21 13 13 253 100 153 1 20 330 256 74 1 -3.69 5.46 2.80
4 Sun October 7 boxscore W 3-1 Washington Redskins 23 9 21 309 167 142 4 9 181 124 57 5 -11.61 31.51 -8.29
5 Sun October 14 boxscore L 3-2 @ St. Louis Rams 14 15 16 324 227 97 2 19 315 274 41 4 -5.81 12.00 -6.43
6 Mon October 22 boxscore L 3-3 Philadelphia Eagles 9 10 16 238 142 96 1 13 215 124 91 1 -9.78 7.58 -2.53
7 Sun October 28 boxscore L 3-4 @ Washington Redskins 21 35 25 388 346 42 2 17 353 196 157 2.33 -9.28 -9.59
8 Sun November 4 boxscore W OT 4-4 Dallas Cowboys 27 24 19 358 265 93 5 17 324 238 86 4 -15.86 15.53 1.62
9 Sun November 11 boxscore W 5-4 @ Arizona Cardinals 17 10 20 334 148 186 1 12 213 135 78 3 -0.82 15.75 -7.89
10 Mon November 19 boxscore L 5-5 @ Minnesota Vikings 16 28 18 358 297 61 2 24 359 263 96 3 -1.73 -11.72 2.28
11 Sun November 25 boxscore L 5-6 Oakland Raiders 10 28 18 313 160 153 15 339 220 119 -3.68 -11.39 -1.60
12 Bye Week
13 Sun December 9 boxscore L 5-7 @ Dallas Cowboys 13 20 12 245 120 125 2 14 289 185 104 -11.60 6.53 -4.95
14 Sat December 15 boxscore W 6-7 Arizona Cardinals 17 13 15 244 139 105 19 285 197 88 1 -4.21 13.68 -7.07
15 Sun December 23 boxscore W 7-7 Seattle Seahawks 27 24 22 420 332 88 2 14 259 161 98 2 2.68 11.33 -10.79
16 Sun December 30 boxscore L 7-8 @ Philadelphia Eagles 21 24 18 420 291 129 1 21 361 241 120 2 -0.36 -5.88 4.37
17 Sun January 6 boxscore L 7-9 Green Bay Packers 25 34 25 524 378 146 3 18 413 308 105 1 9.95 -12.43 -5.12