Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1971 Game Results & Schedule

1971 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-9-1, Finished 3rd in AFC Central Division  · 1971 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -6.7, Offense: -3.0, Defense: -3.8, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 251 points (17.9/g), 16th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 330 points (23.6/g), 22nd.
 Differential of -79 points (-5.6/g), 19th.  Expected W-L: 4.8-9.2.

Coach: Ed Hughes (4-9-1)

Stadium: Houston Astrodome
 Training Camp: Schreiner Institute (Kerrville, Texas)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 19 boxscore L 0-1 @ Cleveland Browns 0 31 11 243 208 35 6 21 377 269 108 2
2 Sun September 26 boxscore L 0-2 Kansas City Chiefs 16 20 15 198 172 26 3 19 286 207 79 2
3 Sun October 3 boxscore T 0-2-1 New Orleans Saints 13 13 13 263 156 107 3 16 263 79 184 2
4 Sun October 10 boxscore L 0-3-1 @ Washington Redskins 13 22 13 192 146 46 5 11 251 136 115 2
5 Sun October 17 boxscore L 0-4-1 Detroit Lions 7 31 13 295 209 86 5 20 385 155 230 3
6 Sun October 24 boxscore L 0-5-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 16 23 19 272 180 92 2 26 419 254 165 5
7 Sun October 31 boxscore W 1-5-1 Cincinnati Bengals 10 6 9 177 83 94 5 9 83 -52 135 1
8 Sun November 7 boxscore L 1-6-1 @ New England Patriots 20 28 16 331 260 71 3 21 253 154 99
9 Sun November 14 boxscore L 1-7-1 @ Oakland Raiders 21 41 16 189 130 59 6 12 245 163 82 4
10 Sun November 21 boxscore L 1-8-1 @ Cincinnati Bengals 13 28 13 241 171 70 2 19 263 143 120 2
11 Sun November 28 boxscore L 1-9-1 Cleveland Browns 24 37 10 216 170 46 5 19 311 151 160 4
12 Sun December 5 boxscore W 2-9-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 29 3 15 275 128 147 10 132 59 73 3
13 Sun December 12 boxscore W 3-9-1 @ Buffalo Bills 20 14 16 268 176 92 1 14 292 207 85 3
14 Sun December 19 boxscore W 4-9-1 San Diego Chargers 49 33 22 355 220 135 5 20 235 147 88 4