Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

1-13-0, Finished 4th in AFC Central Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -13.0, Offense: -7.1, Defense: -5.9, SoS: 2.4, avg is 0.0.

Scored 164 points (11.7/g), 25th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 380 points (27.1/g), 25th.
 Differential of -216 points (-15.4/g), 25th.  Expected W-L: 1.7-12.3.

Coach: Bill Peterson (1-13-0)

Stadium: Houston Astrodome
 Training Camp: Schreiner Institute (Kerrville, Texas)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-1 @ Denver Broncos 17 30 12 196 142 54 2 18 478 239 239 3
2 Sun September 24 boxscore L 0-2 @ Miami Dolphins 13 34 7 167 104 63 3 30 435 161 274 4
3 Sun October 1 boxscore W 1-2 New York Jets 26 20 19 412 262 150 1 19 398 301 97 4
4 Mon October 9 boxscore L 1-3 Oakland Raiders 0 34 7 89 -1 90 5 19 302 138 164 4
5 Sun October 15 boxscore L 1-4 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 7 24 7 108 108 1 18 295 46 249
6 Sun October 22 boxscore L 1-5 Cleveland Browns 17 23 17 364 221 143 2 13 254 119 135
7 Sun October 29 boxscore L 1-6 @ Cincinnati Bengals 7 30 10 145 47 98 2 29 496 252 244 2
8 Sun November 5 boxscore L 1-7 @ Cleveland Browns 0 20 11 212 93 119 1 15 298 146 152
9 Sun November 12 boxscore L 1-8 Philadelphia Eagles 17 18 18 348 112 236 3 12 237 84 153 1
10 Sun November 19 boxscore L 1-9 Green Bay Packers 10 23 16 240 126 114 14 310 100 210
11 Sun November 26 boxscore L 1-10 @ San Diego Chargers 20 34 18 213 162 51 1 23 367 137 230 1
12 Sun December 3 boxscore L 1-11 @ Atlanta Falcons 10 20 13 242 154 88 6 17 328 167 161 3
13 Sun December 10 boxscore L 1-12 Pittsburgh Steelers 3 9 11 159 87 72 1 12 193 63 130 1
14 Sun December 17 boxscore L 1-13 Cincinnati Bengals 17 61 17 296 164 132 5 24 343 190 153 1