Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Houston Oilers > 1980 Game Results & Schedule

1980 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

11-5-0, Finished 2nd in AFC Central Division  · 1980 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 1.6, Offense: -2.7, Defense: 4.4, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 295 points (18.4/g), 20th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 251 points (15.7/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 44 points (2.8/g), 11th.  Expected W-L: 9.5-6.5.

Coach: Bum Phillips (11-5-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Ed Biles
 Other Notable Asst.: Wade Phillips (Defensive Line)

Stadium: Houston Astrodome
 Training Camp: Angelo State (San Angelo, Texas)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 7 boxscore L 0-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 17 31 16 292 232 60 5 20 356 237 119 4
2 Mon September 15 boxscore W 1-1 @ Cleveland Browns 16 7 23 369 177 192 1 13 181 106 75 1
3 Sun September 21 boxscore W 2-1 Baltimore Colts 21 16 27 392 182 210 5 14 240 101 139 1
4 Sun September 28 boxscore W 3-1 @ Cincinnati Bengals 13 10 20 259 222 37 2 14 250 134 116 1
5 Sun October 5 boxscore L 3-2 Seattle Seahawks 7 26 16 242 163 79 6 14 303 185 118 2
6 Sun October 12 boxscore L 3-3 @ Kansas City Chiefs 20 21 21 330 131 199 3 14 281 132 149 1
7 Sun October 19 boxscore W 4-3 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 20 14 23 467 222 245 4 12 193 126 67 4
8 Sun October 26 boxscore W 5-3 Cincinnati Bengals 23 3 17 373 122 251 2 13 259 157 102 4
9 Sun November 2 boxscore W 6-3 @ Denver Broncos 20 16 23 330 157 173 1 18 252 156 96
10 Mon November 10 boxscore W 7-3 New England Patriots 38 34 20 390 242 148 1 27 473 374 99 2
11 Sun November 16 boxscore W 8-3 @ Chicago Bears 10 6 20 330 93 237 1 14 326 148 178 1
12 Sun November 23 boxscore L OT 8-4 @ New York Jets 28 31 28 472 349 123 6 17 327 223 104 3
13 Sun November 30 boxscore L 8-5 Cleveland Browns 14 17 17 322 208 114 5 11 194 73 121 1
14 Thu December 4 boxscore W 9-5 Pittsburgh Steelers 6 0 13 268 177 91 1 18 278 118 160 5
15 Sun December 14 boxscore W 10-5 @ Green Bay Packers 22 3 22 371 114 257 2 16 337 283 54 5
16 Sun December 21 boxscore W 11-5 Minnesota Vikings 20 16 23 435 216 219 2 24 362 248 114 4
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 28 boxscore L 11-6 @ Oakland Raiders 7 27 18 275 178 97 3 12 250 139 111 1