Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1996 Game Results & Schedule

1996 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, Finished 4th in AFC Central Division  · 1996 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 0.9, Offense: 0.1, Defense: 0.8, SoS: -0.7, avg is 0.0.

Scored 345 points (21.6/g), 10th of 30 in the NFL. Allowed 319 points (19.9/g), 16th.
 Differential of 26 points (1.6/g), 11th.  Expected W-L: 8.7-7.3.

Coach: Jeff Fisher (8-8-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Rhome
 Defensive Coordinator: Steve Sidwell
 Other Notable Asst.: Mike Munchak (Offensive Assistant/Quality Control) and Gregg Williams (Linebackers)

Stadium: Houston Astrodome
 Training Camp: Trinity University (San Antonio, Texas)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 1 boxscore L 0-1 Kansas City Chiefs 19 20 16 263 191 72 1 17 248 169 79 2
2 Sun September 8 boxscore W 1-1 @ Jacksonville Jaguars 34 27 21 401 220 181 1 26 370 298 72 3
3 Sun September 15 boxscore W 2-1 Baltimore Ravens 29 13 19 312 172 140 19 281 208 73 3
4 Bye Week
5 Sun September 29 boxscore L 2-2 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 16 30 16 273 193 80 5 15 309 197 112 2
6 Sun October 6 boxscore W OT 3-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 30 27 18 335 175 160 2 22 315 152 163
7 Sun October 13 boxscore W 4-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 23 13 16 320 199 121 1 20 323 268 55 2
8 Sun October 20 boxscore W 5-2 Pittsburgh Steelers 23 13 23 328 237 91 2 12 275 192 83 2
9 Sun October 27 boxscore L 5-3 San Francisco 49ers 9 10 12 184 77 107 2 12 238 175 63
10 Sun November 3 boxscore L 5-4 @ Seattle Seahawks 16 23 13 353 225 128 1 19 342 310 32 1
11 Sun November 10 boxscore W 6-4 @ New Orleans Saints 31 14 20 309 161 148 1 14 227 154 73 2
12 Sun November 17 boxscore L 6-5 Miami Dolphins 20 23 17 261 164 97 1 17 303 209 94 2
13 Sun November 24 boxscore L 6-6 Carolina Panthers 6 31 17 271 186 85 4 12 254 160 94 1
14 Sun December 1 boxscore W 7-6 @ New York Jets 35 10 18 385 142 243 1 15 264 185 79 3
15 Sun December 8 boxscore L 7-7 Jacksonville Jaguars 17 23 21 361 287 74 4 19 279 165 114 1
16 Sun December 15 boxscore L 7-8 Cincinnati Bengals 13 21 22 341 235 106 4 12 205 126 79
17 Sun December 22 boxscore W 8-8 @ Baltimore Ravens 24 21 18 351 234 117 20 377 257 120 2