Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1948 Game Results & Schedule

1948 Philadelphia Eagles

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-2-1, Finished 1st in NFL East Division  · 1948 NFL Season Summary

Scored 376 points (31.3/g), 2nd of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 156 points (13.0/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 220 points (18.3/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 10.7-1.3.

Coach: Greasy Neale (9-2-1)

Stadium: Shibe Park
 Training Camp: Saranac High School Field / Eagles Residence (Saranac Lake, New York)


Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Fri September 24 boxscore L 0-1 @ Chicago Cardinals 14 21 15 331 207 124 4 14 340 151 189 2
2 Sun October 3 boxscore T 0-1-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 28 28 12 280 142 138 2 21 403 295 108 2
3 Sun October 10 boxscore W 1-1-1 New York Giants 45 0 19 366 168 198 2 6 125 64 61 5
4 Sun October 17 boxscore W 2-1-1 @ Washington Redskins 45 0 28 416 198 218 1 11 213 132 81 5
5 Sun October 24 boxscore W 3-1-1 Chicago Bears 12 7 15 175 71 104 3 14 223 102 121 4
6 Sun October 31 boxscore W 4-1-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 34 7 20 334 177 157 3 15 254 144 110 6
7 Sun November 7 boxscore W 5-1-1 @ New York Giants 35 14 21 458 189 269 4 19 376 261 115 2
8 Sun November 14 boxscore W 6-1-1 Boston Yanks 45 0 22 489 269 220 2 7 162 61 101 3
9 Sun November 21 boxscore W 7-1-1 Washington Redskins 42 21 28 575 199 376 3 10 254 210 44 2
10 Sun November 28 boxscore W 8-1-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 17 0 15 350 167 183 5 12 200 113 87 2
12 Sun December 5 boxscore L 8-2-1 @ Boston Yanks 14 37 18 325 196 129 5 9 198 80 118 3
12 Sun December 12 boxscore W 9-2-1 Detroit Lions 45 21 28 520 258 262 20 412 338 74 3
Playoffs
Championship Sun December 19 boxscore W 10-2-1 Chicago Cardinals 7 0 16 232 7 225 3 6 131 35 96 3