Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1946 Game Results & Schedule

1946 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

5-5-1, Finished 3rd in NFL East Division  · 1946 NFL Season Summary

Scored 136 points (12.4/g), 10th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 117 points (10.6/g), 1st.
 Differential of 19 points (1.7/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 6.5-4.5.

Coach: Jock Sutherland (5-5-1)

Stadium: Forbes Field
 Training Camp: (Hershey, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Fri September 20 boxscore W 1-0 Chicago Cardinals 14 7 8 137 25 112 2 11 186 79 107 4
1 Sun September 29 boxscore T 1-0-1 @ Washington Redskins 14 14 14 231 122 109 1 18 324 165 159 2
3 Sun October 6 boxscore L 1-1-1 New York Giants 14 17 17 369 218 151 6 10 249 41 208 1
4 Sun October 13 boxscore W 2-1-1 Boston Yanks 16 7 15 317 100 217 3 16 223 93 130 3
4 Sun October 20 boxscore L 2-2-1 @ Green Bay Packers 7 17 11 213 59 154 2 24 382 94 288 2
5 Sun October 27 boxscore W 3-2-1 @ Boston Yanks 33 7 13 281 121 160 1 14 190 64 126 5
7 Sun November 3 boxscore W 4-2-1 Washington Redskins 14 7 5 108 8 100 2 14 277 139 138 5
7 Sun November 10 boxscore L 4-3-1 @ Detroit Lions 7 17 12 202 174 28 7 293 182 111 1
9 Sun November 17 boxscore W 5-3-1 Philadelphia Eagles 10 7 6 122 53 69 3 9 190 29 161 5
9 Sun November 24 boxscore L 5-4-1 @ New York Giants 0 7 10 139 53 86 3 10 154 39 115 2
10 Sun December 1 boxscore L 5-5-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 7 10 9 158 37 121 5 14 225 14 211 1