Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1948 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1948 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-8-0, NFL East Division  · 1948 NFL Season Summary

Scored 200 points (16.7/g), 7th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 243 points (20.2/g), 4th.
 Differential of -43 points (-3.6/g), 6th.  Expected W-L: 4.6-7.4.

Coach: John Michelosen (4-8-0)

Stadium: Forbes Field
 Training Camp: Alliance College (Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 26 boxscore L 0-1 @ Washington Redskins 14 17 23 344 111 233 3 18 399 257 142 1
2 Sun October 3 boxscore W 1-1 Boston Yanks 24 14 24 339 48 291 5 5 137 31 106 2
3 Sun October 10 boxscore W 2-1 Washington Redskins 10 7 17 210 113 97 2 15 243 121 122 6
5 Sun October 17 boxscore L 2-2 @ Boston Yanks 7 13 11 205 113 92 7 9 242 162 80 4
5 Sun October 24 boxscore L 2-3 @ New York Giants 27 34 14 287 204 83 5 13 336 192 144 1
6 Sun October 31 boxscore L 2-4 Philadelphia Eagles 7 34 15 254 144 110 6 20 334 177 157 3
7 Sun November 7 boxscore W 3-4 Green Bay Packers 38 7 19 301 80 221 3 13 250 152 98 3
8 Sun November 14 boxscore L 3-5 Chicago Cardinals 7 24 14 327 186 141 5 18 368 184 184 1
9 Sun November 21 boxscore L 3-6 @ Detroit Lions 14 17 22 288 86 202 5 11 192 68 124
10 Sun November 28 boxscore L 3-7 @ Philadelphia Eagles 0 17 12 200 113 87 2 15 350 167 183 5
11 Sun December 5 boxscore W 4-7 New York Giants 38 28 23 431 165 266 31 463 363 100 3
12 Sun December 12 boxscore L 4-8 @ Los Angeles Rams 14 31 16 277 166 111 3 20 321 113 208 2