Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1972 Game Results & Schedule

1972 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

11-3-0, Finished 1st in AFC Central Division  · 1972 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 10.0, Offense: 3.4, Defense: 6.6, SoS: -2.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 343 points (24.5/g), 5th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 175 points (12.5/g), 2nd.
 Differential of 168 points (12.0/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 11.6-2.4.

Coach: Chuck Noll (11-3-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Bud Carson

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 17 boxscore W 1-0 Oakland Raiders 34 28 17 247 106 141 4 20 370 273 97 5
2 Sun September 24 boxscore L 1-1 @ Cincinnati Bengals 10 15 14 205 131 74 3 13 269 148 121 4
3 Sun October 1 boxscore W 2-1 @ St. Louis Cardinals 25 19 20 362 209 153 2 15 248 190 58 4
4 Sun October 8 boxscore L 2-2 @ Dallas Cowboys 13 17 14 272 142 130 2 21 367 176 191 4
5 Sun October 15 boxscore W 3-2 Houston Oilers 24 7 18 295 46 249 7 108 108 1
6 Sun October 22 boxscore W 4-2 New England Patriots 33 3 19 426 183 243 1 17 276 149 127 4
7 Sun October 29 boxscore W 5-2 @ Buffalo Bills 38 21 18 309 93 216 1 24 418 164 254 4
8 Sun November 5 boxscore W 6-2 Cincinnati Bengals 40 17 20 415 185 230 21 366 221 145 3
9 Sun November 12 boxscore W 7-2 Kansas City Chiefs 16 7 15 318 80 238 5 16 183 108 75 3
10 Sun November 19 boxscore L 7-3 @ Cleveland Browns 24 26 15 314 103 211 2 24 389 172 217 2
11 Sun November 26 boxscore W 8-3 Minnesota Vikings 23 10 12 292 86 206 3 16 320 225 95 3
12 Sun December 3 boxscore W 9-3 Cleveland Browns 30 0 19 337 153 184 1 11 126 27 99 3
13 Sun December 10 boxscore W 10-3 @ Houston Oilers 9 3 12 193 63 130 1 11 159 87 72 1
14 Sun December 17 boxscore W 11-3 @ San Diego Chargers 24 2 15 246 131 115 1 12 172 116 56 7
Playoffs
Division Sat December 23 boxscore W 12-3 Oakland Raiders 13 7 13 252 144 108 1 13 216 78 138 4
ConfChamp Sun December 31 boxscore L 12-4 Miami Dolphins 17 21 13 250 122 128 2 19 314 121 193 1