Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1973 Game Results & Schedule

1973 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-4-0, Finished 2nd in AFC Central Division  · 1973 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 8.2, Offense: 4.5, Defense: 3.8, SoS: -1.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 347 points (24.8/g), 4th of 26 in the NFL. Allowed 210 points (15.0/g), 8th.
 Differential of 137 points (9.8/g), 4th.  Expected W-L: 10.7-3.3.

Coach: Chuck Noll (10-4-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Bud Carson

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 16 boxscore W 1-0 Detroit Lions 24 10 29 395 154 241 2 17 301 193 108 3
2 Sun September 23 boxscore W 2-0 Cleveland Browns 33 6 14 369 173 196 1 16 208 124 84 3
3 Sun September 30 boxscore W 3-0 @ Houston Oilers 36 7 14 255 130 125 3 13 178 115 63 5
4 Sun October 7 boxscore W 4-0 San Diego Chargers 38 21 15 286 132 154 5 20 348 181 167 6
5 Sun October 14 boxscore L 4-1 @ Cincinnati Bengals 7 19 6 138 67 71 3 19 250 78 172
6 Sun October 21 boxscore W 5-1 New York Jets 26 14 19 360 146 214 2 9 118 46 72 3
7 Sun October 28 boxscore W 6-1 Cincinnati Bengals 20 13 10 242 156 86 4 17 318 217 101 5
8 Mon November 5 boxscore W 7-1 Washington Redskins 21 16 18 255 102 153 4 14 190 73 117 4
9 Sun November 11 boxscore W 8-1 @ Oakland Raiders 17 9 8 194 82 112 1 26 395 223 172 5
10 Sun November 18 boxscore L 8-2 Denver Broncos 13 23 12 300 217 83 3 20 257 73 184
11 Sun November 25 boxscore L 8-3 @ Cleveland Browns 16 21 16 380 210 170 2 10 250 146 104 4
12 Mon December 3 boxscore L 8-4 @ Miami Dolphins 26 30 19 268 90 178 6 8 189 66 123 2
13 Sun December 9 boxscore W 9-4 Houston Oilers 33 7 19 320 132 188 4 5 83 25 58 9
14 Sat December 15 boxscore W 10-4 @ San Francisco 49ers 37 14 18 308 136 172 16 239 112 127 6
Playoffs
Division Sat December 22 boxscore L 10-5 @ Oakland Raiders 14 33 15 223 158 65 3 24 361 129 232