Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

14-2-0, Finished 1st in AFC Central Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 8.2, Offense: 2.6, Defense: 5.6, SoS: -1.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 356 points (22.2/g), 5th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 195 points (12.2/g), 1st.
 Differential of 161 points (10.1/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 12.9-3.1.

Coach: Chuck Noll (14-2-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: George Perles

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)


Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 3 boxscore W 1-0 @ Buffalo Bills 28 17 21 359 217 142 1 16 264 164 100 1
2 Sun September 10 boxscore W 2-0 Seattle Seahawks 21 10 26 336 185 151 1 18 247 154 93 3
3 Sun September 17 boxscore W 3-0 @ Cincinnati Bengals 28 3 26 447 235 212 4 9 179 123 56 2
4 Sun September 24 boxscore W OT 4-0 Cleveland Browns 15 9 18 339 200 139 3 19 199 102 97 2
5 Sun October 1 boxscore W 5-0 @ New York Jets 28 17 20 327 189 138 2 18 297 142 155 1
6 Sun October 8 boxscore W 6-0 Atlanta Falcons 31 7 28 387 206 181 3 20 257 144 113 4
7 Sun October 15 boxscore W 7-0 @ Cleveland Browns 34 14 20 321 153 168 19 360 228 132 4
8 Mon October 23 boxscore L 7-1 Houston Oilers 17 24 21 328 215 113 1 22 329 160 169 1
9 Sun October 29 boxscore W 8-1 Kansas City Chiefs 27 24 17 215 80 135 3 20 322 141 181 3
10 Sun November 5 boxscore W 9-1 New Orleans Saints 20 14 20 345 200 145 2 23 421 340 81 2
11 Sun November 12 boxscore L 9-2 @ Los Angeles Rams 7 10 12 174 115 59 3 14 313 121 192 2
12 Sun November 19 boxscore W 10-2 Cincinnati Bengals 7 6 14 154 84 70 5 15 246 149 97 5
13 Mon November 27 boxscore W 11-2 @ San Francisco 49ers 24 7 22 380 168 212 4 12 141 74 67 5
14 Sun December 3 boxscore W 12-2 @ Houston Oilers 13 3 17 251 74 177 2 9 164 83 81 6
15 Sat December 9 boxscore W 13-2 Baltimore Colts 35 13 20 373 234 139 3 12 129 43 86 5
16 Sat December 16 boxscore W 14-2 @ Denver Broncos 21 17 14 260 144 116 2 19 300 226 74 2
Playoffs
Division Sat December 30 boxscore W 15-2 Denver Broncos 33 10 24 425 272 153 2 15 218 131 87 2
ConfChamp Sun January 7 boxscore W 16-2 Houston Oilers 34 5 21 379 200 179 5 10 142 70 72 9
SuperBowl Sun January 21 boxscore W 17-2 N Dallas Cowboys 35 31 19 357 291 66 3 20 330 176 154 3