Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1989 Game Results & Schedule

1989 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 3rd in AFC Central Division  · 1989 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -3.7, Offense: -4.3, Defense: 0.6, SoS: 0.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 265 points (16.6/g), 24th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 326 points (20.4/g), 15th.
 Differential of -61 points (-3.8/g), 21st.  Expected W-L: 6.1-9.9.

Coach: Chuck Noll (9-7-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Tom Moore
 Defensive Coordinator: Rod Rust
 Other Notable Asst.: John Fox (Defensive Backs)

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 10 boxscore L 0-1 Cleveland Browns 0 51 5 53 17 36 8 19 357 205 152
2 Sun September 17 boxscore L 0-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 10 41 18 274 188 86 31 520 328 192 1
3 Sun September 24 boxscore W 1-2 Minnesota Vikings 27 14 23 278 119 159 1 17 258 146 112 2
4 Sun October 1 boxscore W 2-2 @ Detroit Lions 23 3 20 315 213 102 13 240 222 18 4
5 Sun October 8 boxscore L 2-3 Cincinnati Bengals 16 26 25 340 168 172 1 21 382 192 190 1
6 Sun October 15 boxscore W 3-3 @ Cleveland Browns 17 7 16 231 138 93 2 17 260 153 107 7
7 Sun October 22 boxscore L 3-4 @ Houston Oilers 0 27 10 132 100 32 4 22 361 229 132 1
8 Sun October 29 boxscore W 4-4 Kansas City Chiefs 23 17 19 312 232 80 1 23 438 318 120 2
9 Sun November 5 boxscore L 4-5 @ Denver Broncos 7 34 7 170 77 93 1 22 414 261 153 2
10 Sun November 12 boxscore L 4-6 Chicago Bears 0 20 10 216 162 54 6 20 337 134 203 4
11 Sun November 19 boxscore W 5-6 San Diego Chargers 20 17 14 191 103 88 1 20 359 225 134 3
12 Sun November 26 boxscore W 6-6 @ Miami Dolphins 34 14 13 292 161 131 15 302 222 80 5
13 Sun December 3 boxscore L 6-7 Houston Oilers 16 23 15 212 43 169 1 19 284 144 140 3
14 Sun December 10 boxscore W 7-7 @ New York Jets 13 0 17 317 160 157 1 19 313 243 70 3
15 Sun December 17 boxscore W 8-7 New England Patriots 28 10 18 347 128 219 1 26 403 282 121 3
16 Sun December 24 boxscore W 9-7 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 31 22 14 316 169 147 3 19 321 237 84 1
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 31 boxscore W OT 10-7 @ Houston Oilers 26 23 17 289 112 177 1 22 380 315 65 2
Division Sun January 7 boxscore L 10-8 @ Denver Broncos 23 24 19 404 229 175 2 19 364 226 138 1