Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1961 Game Results & Schedule

1961 San Diego Chargers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-2-0, Finished 1st in AFL West Division  · 1961 AFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 11.1, Offense: 2.6, Defense: 8.4, SoS: -1.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 396 points (28.3/g), 3rd of 8 in the AFL. Allowed 219 points (15.6/g), 1st.
 Differential of 177 points (12.6/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 11.2-2.8.

Coach: Sid Gillman (12-2-0)
 Other Notable Asst.: Chuck Noll (Defensive Assistant)

Stadium: Balboa Stadium
 Training Camp: University of San Diego (San Diego, California)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 10 boxscore W 1-0 @ Dallas Texans 26 10 17 365 167 198 2 16 292 83 209 6
2 Sun September 17 boxscore W 2-0 Oakland Raiders 44 0 23 386 183 203 13 106 21 85 6
3 Sun September 24 boxscore W 3-0 Houston Oilers 34 24 7 158 108 50 1 19 372 300 72 7
4 Sat September 30 boxscore W 4-0 @ Buffalo Bills 19 11 15 302 140 162 1 15 239 137 102 2
5 Sat October 7 boxscore W 5-0 @ Boston Patriots 38 27 19 399 315 84 3 17 253 148 105 3
5 Sun October 15 boxscore W 6-0 @ New York Titans 25 10 19 422 299 123 5 14 202 140 62 5
6 Sun October 22 boxscore W 7-0 @ Oakland Raiders 41 10 20 334 116 218 3 6 58 56 2 6
8 Sun October 29 boxscore W 8-0 Denver Broncos 37 0 13 312 211 101 5 14 304 228 76 7
9 Sun November 5 boxscore W 9-0 New York Titans 48 13 17 353 169 184 4 16 201 111 90 6
10 Sun November 12 boxscore W 10-0 @ Denver Broncos 19 16 13 209 153 56 3 19 358 272 86 5
11 Sun November 19 boxscore W 11-0 Dallas Texans 24 14 13 338 335 3 3 17 288 180 108 3
12 Sun December 3 boxscore L 11-1 @ Houston Oilers 13 33 14 306 271 35 4 22 473 351 122 3
13 Sun December 10 boxscore W 12-1 Buffalo Bills 28 10 7 237 190 47 2 18 279 180 99 4
14 Sun December 17 boxscore L 12-2 Boston Patriots 0 41 11 192 190 2 6 18 295 156 139 3
Playoffs
Championship Sun December 24 boxscore L 12-3 Houston Oilers 3 10 15 256 177 79 6 18 256 160 96 7