Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Game Results & Schedule

1981 San Diego Chargers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-6-0, Finished 1st in AFC West Division  · 1981 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 4.4, Offense: 9.2, Defense: -4.7, SoS: -1.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 478 points (29.9/g), 1st of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 390 points (24.4/g), 26th.
 Differential of 88 points (5.5/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 9.9-6.1.

Coach: Don Coryell (10-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Larrye Weaver
 Defensive Coordinator: Jack Pardee

Stadium: Jack Murphy Stadium
 Training Camp: UC San Diego (San Diego, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 7 boxscore W 1-0 @ Cleveland Browns 44 14 28 535 330 205 27 419 366 53 2
2 Sun September 13 boxscore W 2-0 Detroit Lions 28 23 17 367 310 57 2 26 385 207 178 2
3 Sun September 20 boxscore W 3-0 @ Kansas City Chiefs 42 31 23 398 284 114 3 29 426 278 148 8
4 Sun September 27 boxscore L 3-1 @ Denver Broncos 24 42 23 349 267 82 5 20 453 350 103 3
5 Sun October 4 boxscore W 4-1 Seattle Seahawks 24 10 25 371 272 99 2 15 292 200 92 1
6 Sun October 11 boxscore L 4-2 Minnesota Vikings 31 33 18 425 305 120 1 29 526 433 93 3
7 Sun October 18 boxscore W 5-2 @ Baltimore Colts 43 14 30 470 298 172 1 18 264 196 68 3
8 Sun October 25 boxscore L OT 5-3 @ Chicago Bears 17 20 15 356 295 61 2 28 414 219 195 1
9 Sun November 1 boxscore W 6-3 Kansas City Chiefs 22 20 21 379 297 82 4 26 339 155 184 3
10 Sun November 8 boxscore L 6-4 Cincinnati Bengals 17 40 25 447 311 136 5 29 461 337 124 2
11 Mon November 16 boxscore L 6-5 @ Seattle Seahawks 23 44 26 486 291 195 4 24 368 212 156
12 Sun November 22 boxscore W 7-5 @ Oakland Raiders 55 21 32 465 317 148 2 18 342 283 59 3
13 Sun November 29 boxscore W 8-5 Denver Broncos 34 17 20 408 260 148 2 19 389 322 67 5
14 Sun December 6 boxscore L 8-6 Buffalo Bills 27 28 28 482 337 145 2 19 318 234 84
15 Sun December 13 boxscore W 9-6 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 24 23 27 445 351 94 4 18 404 290 114 3
16 Mon December 21 boxscore W 10-6 Oakland Raiders 23 10 21 361 214 147 1 20 336 229 107 2
Playoffs
Division Sat January 2 boxscore W OT 11-6 @ Miami Dolphins 41 38 34 564 415 149 4 25 472 394 78 3
ConfChamp Sun January 10 boxscore L 11-7 @ Cincinnati Bengals 7 27 18 301 173 128 4 19 318 175 143 1