Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1978 Game Results & Schedule

1978 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

5-11-0, Finished 5th in NFC Central Division  · 1978 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -3.3, Offense: -4.1, Defense: 0.8, SoS: -2.2, avg is 0.0.

Scored 241 points (15.1/g), 25th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 259 points (16.2/g), 7th.
 Differential of -18 points (-1.1/g), 17th.  Expected W-L: 7.3-8.7.

Coach: John McKay (5-11-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Joe Gibbs
 Defensive Coordinator: Tom Bass

Stadium: Tampa Stadium
 Training Camp: One Buc Place / Buccaneer Place (Tampa, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sat September 2 boxscore L 0-1 New York Giants 13 19 16 251 86 165 4 12 238 162 76 1
2 Sat September 9 boxscore L 0-2 Detroit Lions 7 15 10 109 -31 140 6 11 196 47 149 2
3 Sun September 17 boxscore W 1-2 @ Minnesota Vikings 16 10 10 155 63 92 1 15 219 146 73 5
4 Sun September 24 boxscore W 2-2 Atlanta Falcons 14 9 10 176 82 94 1 13 217 69 148 3
5 Sun October 1 boxscore L 2-3 Minnesota Vikings 7 24 18 370 283 87 3 19 319 208 111 1
6 Sun October 8 boxscore W 3-3 @ Kansas City Chiefs 30 13 21 347 226 121 1 15 256 136 120 2
7 Sun October 15 boxscore L 3-4 @ New York Giants 14 17 20 263 100 163 4 16 218 48 170 2
8 Sun October 22 boxscore W 4-4 Chicago Bears 33 19 21 319 173 146 1 15 323 203 120 3
9 Sun October 29 boxscore L 4-5 @ Green Bay Packers 7 9 7 170 98 72 3 18 249 158 91 4
10 Sun November 5 boxscore L 4-6 @ Los Angeles Rams 23 26 18 341 132 209 5 15 344 220 124 1
11 Sun November 12 boxscore L 4-7 @ Detroit Lions 23 34 18 202 89 113 20 404 193 211 3
12 Sun November 19 boxscore W 5-7 Buffalo Bills 31 10 20 312 107 205 2 18 211 132 79 5
13 Sun November 26 boxscore L 5-8 @ Chicago Bears 3 14 6 92 -7 99 1 17 301 50 251 1
14 Sun December 3 boxscore L 5-9 Green Bay Packers 7 17 20 321 144 177 3 11 173 108 65 1
15 Sun December 10 boxscore L 5-10 @ San Francisco 49ers 3 6 13 196 83 113 3 17 239 149 90 6
16 Sun December 17 boxscore L 5-11 New Orleans Saints 10 17 10 177 75 102 24 421 250 171 3