Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1981 Game Results & Schedule

1981 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-7-0, Finished 1st in NFC Central Division  · 1981 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 3.0, Offense: -1.4, Defense: 4.4, SoS: 0.1, avg is 0.0.

Scored 315 points (19.7/g), 18th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 268 points (16.8/g), 4th.
 Differential of 47 points (2.9/g), 12th.  Expected W-L: 9.5-6.5.

Coach: John McKay (9-7-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Tom Bass

Stadium: Tampa Stadium
 Training Camp: One Buc Place / Buccaneer Place (Tampa, Florida)

Team Games & Schedule

W# Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sat September 5 boxscore W 1-0 Minnesota Vikings 21 13 10 219 108 111 27 443 343 100 4
2 Sun September 13 boxscore L 1-1 @ Kansas City Chiefs 10 19 17 298 286 12 13 256 99 157
3 Sun September 20 boxscore L 1-2 @ Chicago Bears 17 28 22 450 309 141 3 15 247 126 121 1
4 Sun September 27 boxscore W 2-2 St. Louis Cardinals 20 10 18 321 154 167 1 18 255 79 176 2
5 Sun October 4 boxscore W 3-2 Detroit Lions 28 10 14 211 162 49 1 18 332 239 93 6
6 Sun October 11 boxscore W 4-2 @ Green Bay Packers 21 10 22 371 199 172 2 19 298 203 95 4
7 Sun October 18 boxscore L 4-3 @ Oakland Raiders 16 18 11 356 327 29 3 22 370 176 194 3
8 Sun October 25 boxscore L 4-4 @ Philadelphia Eagles 10 20 24 347 238 109 4 17 298 109 189 3
9 Sun November 1 boxscore W 5-4 Chicago Bears 20 10 15 392 183 209 1 18 325 233 92 3
10 Sun November 8 boxscore L 5-5 @ Minnesota Vikings 10 25 10 193 150 43 2 26 426 221 205 4
11 Sun November 15 boxscore L 5-6 Denver Broncos 7 24 10 209 168 41 2 22 281 128 153 1
12 Sun November 22 boxscore W 6-6 Green Bay Packers 37 3 23 348 138 210 3 14 282 212 70 4
13 Sun November 29 boxscore W 7-6 @ New Orleans Saints 31 14 22 345 218 127 2 20 341 204 137 3
14 Sun December 6 boxscore W 8-6 Atlanta Falcons 24 23 22 420 327 93 1 23 373 236 137 1
15 Sun December 13 boxscore L 8-7 San Diego Chargers 23 24 18 404 290 114 3 27 445 351 94 4
16 Sun December 20 boxscore W 9-7 @ Detroit Lions 20 17 11 276 172 104 21 340 181 159 3
Playoffs
Division Sat January 2 boxscore L 9-8 @ Dallas Cowboys 0 38 12 222 148 74 4 26 345 133 212