Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1949 Game Results & Schedule

1949 Washington Redskins

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

4-7-1, NFL East Division  · 1949 NFL Season Summary

Scored 268 points (22.3/g), 6th of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 339 points (28.2/g), 9th.
 Differential of -71 points (-5.9/g), 8th.  Expected W-L: 4.4-7.6.

Coach: Herman Ball (1-4-0) and John Whelchel (3-3-1)

Stadium: Griffith Stadium
 Training Camp: Occidental College (Los Angeles, California)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 26 boxscore L 0-1 @ Chicago Cardinals 7 38 20 319 217 102 4 21 415 150 265 3
2 Mon October 3 boxscore W 1-1 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 27 14 17 410 182 228 19 303 110 193 2
3 Sun October 9 boxscore L 1-2 New York Giants 35 45 22 452 335 117 7 17 369 217 152 3
4 Sun October 16 boxscore W 2-2 New York Bulldogs 38 14 16 469 287 182 2 16 389 132 257 5
5 Sun October 23 boxscore L 2-3 @ Philadelphia Eagles 14 49 15 294 135 159 4 28 519 188 331 2
6 Sun October 30 boxscore T 2-3-1 @ New York Bulldogs 14 14 20 418 285 133 5 13 287 157 130 1
7 Sun November 6 boxscore W 3-3-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 27 14 16 383 208 175 3 20 319 89 230 2
8 Sun November 13 boxscore L 3-4-1 Philadelphia Eagles 21 44 17 371 276 95 6 26 550 294 256 2
9 Sun November 20 boxscore L 3-5-1 Chicago Bears 21 31 13 239 140 99 2 20 464 315 149 2
10 Sun November 27 boxscore L 3-6-1 @ New York Giants 7 23 19 276 207 69 3 15 253 184 69 1
11 Sun December 4 boxscore W 4-6-1 Green Bay Packers 30 0 17 319 157 162 10 227 122 105 4
12 Sun December 11 boxscore L 4-7-1 @ Los Angeles Rams 27 53 25 378 320 58 6 28 584 405 179 4