Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 Chicago Bears

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

10-6-0, Finished 2nd in NFC Central Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -0.0, Offense: -2.2, Defense: 2.1, SoS: -3.6, avg is 0.0.

Scored 306 points (19.1/g), 18th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 249 points (15.6/g), 3rd.
 Differential of 57 points (3.6/g), 6th.  Expected W-L: 9.9-6.1.

Coach: Neill Armstrong (10-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Ken Meyer
 Defensive Coordinator: Buddy Ryan

Stadium: Soldier Field
 Training Camp: Lake Forest College (Lake Forest, Illinois)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 2 boxscore W 1-0 Green Bay Packers 6 3 17 300 117 183 2 9 149 72 77 1
2 Sun September 9 boxscore W 2-0 Minnesota Vikings 26 7 15 329 93 236 2 13 159 71 88 1
3 Sun September 16 boxscore L 2-1 @ Dallas Cowboys 20 24 14 318 118 200 2 26 420 206 214 3
4 Sun September 23 boxscore L 2-2 @ Miami Dolphins 16 31 16 240 155 85 2 23 389 196 193 1
5 Sun September 30 boxscore L 2-3 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 13 17 11 234 152 82 3 18 373 159 214 3
6 Sun October 7 boxscore W 3-3 @ Buffalo Bills 7 0 15 258 18 240 2 7 106 42 64 2
7 Sun October 14 boxscore L 3-4 New England Patriots 7 27 5 169 96 73 2 25 360 218 142 2
8 Sun October 21 boxscore L 3-5 @ Minnesota Vikings 27 30 23 496 292 204 4 15 267 213 54 2
9 Sun October 28 boxscore W 4-5 @ San Francisco 49ers 28 27 20 352 145 207 2 28 455 348 107 2
10 Sun November 4 boxscore W 5-5 Detroit Lions 35 7 21 308 147 161 11 199 117 82 5
11 Sun November 11 boxscore W 6-5 Los Angeles Rams 27 23 19 272 190 82 16 321 76 245 3
12 Sun November 18 boxscore W 7-5 New York Jets 23 13 19 254 108 146 20 320 180 140 3
13 Thu November 22 boxscore L 7-6 @ Detroit Lions 0 20 14 220 142 78 3 18 331 225 106 3
14 Sun December 2 boxscore W 8-6 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 14 0 10 164 17 147 1 13 238 131 107 5
15 Sun December 9 boxscore W 9-6 @ Green Bay Packers 15 14 16 267 106 161 2 19 306 251 55 5
16 Sun December 16 boxscore W 10-6 St. Louis Cardinals 42 6 27 456 255 201 2 11 113 23 90 2
Playoffs
WildCard Sun December 23 boxscore L 10-7 @ Philadelphia Eagles 17 27 15 241 142 99 3 18 315 176 139 3