Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1977 Game Results & Schedule

News: s-r blog:Stadium Histories Added

1977 Minnesota Vikings

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

9-5-0, Finished 1st in NFC Central Division  · 1977 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -1.6, Offense: -1.0, Defense: -0.6, SoS: -1.9, avg is 0.0.

Scored 231 points (16.5/g), 16th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 227 points (16.2/g), 13th.
 Differential of 4 points (0.3/g), 14th.  Expected W-L: 7.1-6.9.

Coach: Bud Grant (9-5-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Jerry Burns
 Defensive Coordinator: Buddy Ryan
 Other Notable Asst.: Buddy Ryan (Defensive Line)

Stadium: Metropolitan Stadium
 Training Camp: Minnesota State University, Mankato (Mankato, Minnesota)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 18 boxscore L OT 0-1 Dallas Cowboys 10 16 20 294 138 156 5 16 297 166 131 1
2 Sat September 24 boxscore W 1-1 @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers 9 3 17 315 211 104 3 8 138 34 104 3
3 Sun October 2 boxscore W 2-1 Green Bay Packers 19 7 24 325 131 194 8 208 127 81
4 Sun October 9 boxscore W 3-1 Detroit Lions 14 7 13 314 256 58 3 19 281 222 59 1
5 Sun October 16 boxscore W OT 4-1 Chicago Bears 22 16 22 396 201 195 2 17 303 133 170 2
6 Mon October 24 boxscore L 4-2 @ Los Angeles Rams 3 35 16 206 108 98 3 21 397 114 283
7 Sun October 30 boxscore W 5-2 @ Atlanta Falcons 14 7 17 357 212 145 5 10 212 78 134 2
8 Sun November 6 boxscore L 5-3 St. Louis Cardinals 7 27 16 237 130 107 3 23 459 143 316 4
9 Sun November 13 boxscore W 6-3 Cincinnati Bengals 42 10 30 423 216 207 3 13 248 187 61 2
10 Sun November 20 boxscore L 6-4 @ Chicago Bears 7 10 11 188 102 86 4 18 366 23 343 2
11 Sun November 27 boxscore W 7-4 @ Green Bay Packers 13 6 12 218 60 158 2 9 169 61 108 4
12 Sun December 4 boxscore W 8-4 San Francisco 49ers 28 27 18 309 257 52 5 19 243 47 196 2
13 Sun December 11 boxscore L 8-5 @ Oakland Raiders 13 35 11 214 147 67 7 17 306 124 182 3
14 Sat December 17 boxscore W 9-5 @ Detroit Lions 30 21 18 393 199 194 1 14 172 122 50 3
Playoffs
Division Mon December 26 boxscore W 10-5 @ Los Angeles Rams 14 7 14 189 45 144 14 267 118 149 3
ConfChamp Sun January 1 boxscore L 10-6 @ Dallas Cowboys 6 23 12 214 148 66 4 16 328 158 170 2