Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > New York Jets > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 New York Jets

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-8-0, AFC East Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total -2.9, Offense: 1.1, Defense: -4.0, SoS: -0.0, avg is 0.0.

Scored 337 points (21.1/g), 13th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 383 points (23.9/g), 25th.
 Differential of -46 points (-2.9/g), 19th.  Expected W-L: 6.8-9.2.

Coach: Walt Michaels (8-8-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: John Idzik
 Defensive Coordinator: John Mazur

Stadium: Shea Stadium
 Training Camp: Hofstra University (Hempstead, New York)

Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 2 boxscore L OT 0-1 Cleveland Browns 22 25 24 390 161 229 2 24 423 292 131 4
2 Sun September 9 boxscore L 0-2 @ New England Patriots 3 56 12 134 45 89 6 30 597 365 232 3
3 Sun September 16 boxscore W 1-2 Detroit Lions 31 10 22 387 178 209 1 12 229 176 53 3
4 Sun September 23 boxscore L 1-3 @ Buffalo Bills 31 46 22 416 151 265 4 25 497 348 149 1
5 Sun September 30 boxscore W 2-3 Miami Dolphins 33 27 16 354 186 168 1 21 354 286 68 1
6 Sun October 7 boxscore L 2-4 @ Baltimore Colts 8 10 19 358 174 184 3 14 276 232 44 2
7 Mon October 15 boxscore W 3-4 Minnesota Vikings 14 7 16 245 62 183 20 310 256 54 7
8 Sun October 21 boxscore W 4-4 Oakland Raiders 28 19 16 328 161 167 3 25 459 346 113 5
9 Sun October 28 boxscore L OT 4-5 @ Houston Oilers 24 27 20 357 225 132 3 17 311 199 112 1
10 Sun November 4 boxscore W 5-5 @ Green Bay Packers 27 22 20 382 136 246 2 22 395 287 108 4
11 Sun November 11 boxscore L 5-6 Buffalo Bills 12 14 16 237 170 67 3 15 270 132 138
12 Sun November 18 boxscore L 5-7 @ Chicago Bears 13 23 20 320 180 140 3 19 254 108 146
13 Mon November 26 boxscore L 5-8 @ Seattle Seahawks 7 30 21 365 226 139 2 25 399 313 86 1
14 Sun December 2 boxscore W 6-8 Baltimore Colts 30 17 21 368 190 178 1 21 343 240 103 3
15 Sun December 9 boxscore W 7-8 New England Patriots 27 26 20 281 127 154 19 320 213 107 1
16 Sat December 15 boxscore W 8-8 @ Miami Dolphins 27 24 14 322 226 96 4 22 384 322 62 4