Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1977 Game Results & Schedule

1977 Houston Oilers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-6-0, Finished 3rd in AFC Central Division  · 1977 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 6.6, Offense: 4.4, Defense: 2.3, SoS: 1.7, avg is 0.0.

Scored 299 points (21.4/g), 5th of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 230 points (16.4/g), 14th.
 Differential of 69 points (4.9/g), 7th.  Expected W-L: 9.1-4.9.

Coach: Bum Phillips (8-6-0)
 Offensive Coordinator: Ken Shipp
 Defensive Coordinator: Ed Biles
 Other Notable Asst.: Wade Phillips (Defensive Line)

Stadium: Houston Astrodome
 Training Camp: Stephen F. Austin State (Nacogdoches, Texas)

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 18 boxscore W 1-0 New York Jets 20 0 19 239 130 109 11 179 77 102 2
2 Sun September 25 boxscore W 2-0 @ Green Bay Packers 16 10 18 227 137 90 15 279 184 95 4
3 Sun October 2 boxscore L 2-1 @ Miami Dolphins 7 27 13 205 137 68 3 29 397 180 217 3
4 Sun October 9 boxscore W 3-1 Pittsburgh Steelers 27 10 15 267 169 98 2 21 389 211 178 9
5 Sun October 16 boxscore L 3-2 Cleveland Browns 23 24 18 228 119 109 3 11 170 61 109 2
6 Sun October 23 boxscore L 3-3 @ Pittsburgh Steelers 10 27 10 119 -14 133 6 19 352 227 125 6
7 Sun October 30 boxscore L OT 3-4 @ Cincinnati Bengals 10 13 15 186 79 107 1 15 262 173 89 3
8 Sun November 6 boxscore W 4-4 Chicago Bears 47 0 19 489 234 255 3 10 125 -16 141 2
9 Sun November 13 boxscore L 4-5 @ Oakland Raiders 29 34 13 352 196 156 5 24 365 255 110 4
10 Sun November 20 boxscore W 5-5 @ Seattle Seahawks 22 10 25 432 237 195 3 12 129 27 102 4
11 Sun November 27 boxscore W 6-5 Kansas City Chiefs 34 20 21 370 74 296 6 18 337 246 91 3
12 Sun December 4 boxscore L 6-6 Denver Broncos 14 24 11 251 139 112 1 23 332 163 169 2
13 Sun December 11 boxscore W 7-6 @ Cleveland Browns 19 15 10 167 56 111 2 22 400 222 178 8
14 Sun December 18 boxscore W 8-6 Cincinnati Bengals 21 16 21 332 182 150 3 17 241 132 109 2