Mobile Site You Are Here > Home > Teams > Pittsburgh Steelers > 1979 Game Results & Schedule

1979 Pittsburgh Steelers

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

12-4-0, Finished 1st in AFC Central Division  · 1979 NFL Season Summary
 SRS: Total 11.9, Offense: 6.8, Defense: 5.1, SoS: 2.3, avg is 0.0.

Scored 416 points (26.0/g), 1st of 28 in the NFL. Allowed 262 points (16.4/g), 5th.
 Differential of 154 points (9.6/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 12.0-4.0.

Coach: Chuck Noll (12-4-0)
 Defensive Coordinator: Woody Widenhofer

Stadium: Three Rivers Stadium
 Training Camp: St. Vincent College (Latrobe, Pennsylvania)


Team Games & Schedule

Score Offense Defense
Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Mon September 3 boxscore W OT 1-0 @ New England Patriots 16 13 20 309 191 118 2 16 244 82 162 2
2 Sun September 9 boxscore W 2-0 Houston Oilers 38 7 17 256 174 82 2 12 124 22 102 6
3 Sun September 16 boxscore W 3-0 @ St. Louis Cardinals 24 21 25 398 234 164 4 12 212 106 106 1
4 Sun September 23 boxscore W 4-0 Baltimore Colts 17 13 17 392 235 157 4 17 285 188 97 2
5 Sun September 30 boxscore L 4-1 @ Philadelphia Eagles 14 17 19 308 169 139 4 18 283 148 135 2
6 Sun October 7 boxscore W 5-1 @ Cleveland Browns 51 35 21 522 161 361 1 24 458 365 93 5
7 Sun October 14 boxscore L 5-2 @ Cincinnati Bengals 10 34 16 327 263 64 9 19 284 114 170 4
8 Mon October 22 boxscore W 6-2 Denver Broncos 42 7 27 530 294 236 3 16 329 276 53 3
9 Sun October 28 boxscore W 7-2 Dallas Cowboys 14 3 16 288 115 173 16 278 199 79 1
10 Sun November 4 boxscore W 8-2 Washington Redskins 38 7 26 545 372 173 3 17 237 149 88 4
11 Sun November 11 boxscore W 9-2 @ Kansas City Chiefs 30 3 20 355 228 127 2 8 127 62 65 3
12 Sun November 18 boxscore L 9-3 @ San Diego Chargers 7 35 14 191 125 66 8 14 218 120 98 4
13 Sun November 25 boxscore W OT 10-3 Cleveland Browns 33 30 36 606 351 255 3 22 345 283 62 1
14 Sun December 2 boxscore W 11-3 Cincinnati Bengals 37 17 24 478 324 154 1 21 340 209 131 1
15 Mon December 10 boxscore L 11-4 @ Houston Oilers 17 20 15 338 218 120 2 20 350 160 190
16 Sun December 16 boxscore W 12-4 Buffalo Bills 28 0 24 415 201 214 4 8 156 78 78 3
Playoffs
Division Sun December 30 boxscore W 13-4 Miami Dolphins 34 14 27 379 220 159 3 16 249 224 25 2
ConfChamp Sun January 6 boxscore W 14-4 Houston Oilers 27 13 22 358 197 161 2 11 227 203 24 3
SuperBowl Sun January 20 boxscore W 15-4 N Los Angeles Rams 31 19 19 393 309 84 3 16 301 194 107 1