Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1928 Statistics & Players

1928 Providence Steam Roller

 Franchise IndexPrevious Season / Next Season

8-1-2, Finished 1st in NFL  · 1928 NFL Season Summary

Scored 128 points (11.6/g), 3rd of 10 in the NFL. Allowed 42 points (3.8/g), 1st.
 Differential of 86 points (7.8/g), 2nd.  Expected W-L: 10.3-0.7.

Coach: Jimmy Conzelman (8-1-2)

Stadium: Cycledrome


Team Stats and Rankings

Tot Yds & TO Passing Rushing
Pts Yds Ply Y/P TO FL 1stPy 1stD Cmp Att Yds TD Int NY/A 1stD Att Yds TD Y/A 1stD
Team Offense 128 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Team Defense 42 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Lg Rank Offense 3 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Lg Rank Defense 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 30 boxscore W 1-0 New York Yankees 20 7
2 Sun October 7 boxscore L 1-1 Frankford Yellow Jackets 6 10
3 Sun October 14 boxscore W 2-1 Dayton Triangles 28 0
5 Sun October 21 boxscore W 3-1 @ New York Yankees 12 6
5 Sun October 28 boxscore W 4-1 Pottsville Maroons 13 6
6 Sun November 4 boxscore W 5-1 Detroit Wolverines 7 0
10 Sat November 17 boxscore T 5-1-1 @ Frankford Yellow Jackets 6 6
8 Sun November 18 boxscore W 6-1-1 Frankford Yellow Jackets 6 0
9 Sun November 25 boxscore W 7-1-1 New York Giants 16 0
10 Thu November 29 boxscore W 8-1-1 @ Pottsville Maroons 7 0
11 Sun December 2 boxscore T 8-1-2 Green Bay Packers 7 7

Scoring Summary

No. Age Pos G GS RshTD RecTD PR TD KR TD FblTD IntTD OthTD AllTD 2PM XPM FGM Sfty Pts Pts/G
Wildcat Wilson+ 27 TB 11 11 5 5 30
Curly Oden 29 BB 11 9 1 3 4 3 27
Pop Williams 22 fb 7 5 3 1 4 24
Jack Cronin 25 b 8 5 3 3 18
Jimmy Conzelman 30 K/KR/P/PR 4 3 2 2 1 13
Gus Sonnenberg 30 LT 11 10 7 1 10
Duke Hanny 31 LE 11 10 1 1 6
Team Total 26.1 11 12 6 1 19 11 1 128
Opp Total 11 42