Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1930 Statistics & Players

1930 Portsmouth Spartans

 Franchise IndexNext Season

5-6-3, Finished 7th in NFL  · 1930 NFL Season Summary

Scored 176 points (12.6/g), 4th of 11 in the NFL. Allowed 161 points (11.5/g), 8th.
 Differential of 15 points (1.1/g), 5th.  Expected W-L: 7.7-6.3.

Coach: Hal Griffen (5-6-3)

Stadium: Universal Stadium
 Training Camp: Labold Field (Portsmouth, Ohio)

Team Stats and Rankings

Tot Yds & TO Passing Rushing
Pts Yds Ply Y/P TO FL 1stPy 1stD Cmp Att Yds TD Int NY/A 1stD Att Yds TD Y/A 1stD
Team Offense 176 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Team Defense 161 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Lg Rank Offense 4 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Lg Rank Defense 8 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Team Games & Schedule

Week Day Date OT Rec Opp Tm Opp 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO 1stD TotYd PassY RushY TO
1 Sun September 14 boxscore W 1-0 Newark Tornadoes 13 6
2 Wed September 24 boxscore W 2-0 Brooklyn Dodgers 12 0
3 Sun October 5 boxscore T 2-0-1 Chicago Cardinals 0 0
4 Wed October 8 boxscore W 3-0-1 Frankford Yellow Jackets 39 7
3 Sun October 12 boxscore L 3-1-1 @ Minneapolis Red Jackets 0 13
6 Wed October 22 boxscore W 4-1-1 Chicago Bears 7 6
9 Sun October 26 boxscore L 4-2-1 @ Chicago Cardinals 13 23
7 Sun November 2 boxscore L 4-3-1 @ Green Bay Packers 13 47
9 Wed November 5 boxscore L 4-4-1 New York Giants 6 19
9 Sun November 9 boxscore T 4-4-2 @ Staten Island Stapletons 13 13
11 Sat November 15 boxscore L 4-5-2 Frankford Yellow Jackets 6 7
13 Sun November 30 boxscore L 4-6-2 @ Chicago Bears 6 14
13 Sun December 7 boxscore W 5-6-2 Minneapolis Red Jackets 42 0
14 Sun December 14 boxscore T 5-6-3 Green Bay Packers 6 6

Scoring Summary

No. Age Pos G GS RshTD RecTD PR TD KR TD FblTD IntTD OthTD AllTD 2PM XPM FGM Sfty Pts Pts/G
Chuck Bennett 23 TB 14 12 5 1 1 7 42
Chief McLain 25 fb 14 4 4 3 7 42
Bill Glassgow 23 WB 12 9 3 1 4 4 28
Tiny Lewis 24 bb 13 7 2 2 10 22
Father Lumpkin 23 FB 14 13 3 3 18
Byron Eby 26 b 3 1 1 1 6
Red Joseph 25 re 12 7 1 1 6
Ray Novotny 23 b 11 1 1 1 6
Vin Schleusner 22 LT 14 6 1 1 6
Team Total 24.0 14 18 6 1 1 1 27 14 176
Opp Total 14 161